It’s Thursday and I don’t have much to blog about…

Today is nice and overcast. Mmmm, I love it. It’s actually been this way for the last few days. It’s so refreshing. It makes me feel like I live anywhere but here. Yesterday we had afternoon rain and I decided it was the perfect time for a swim. I think I was the only one that was crazy enough to be out, which was part of the attraction for me. I didn’t stay in for very long, but the whole thing of getting out was refreshing and I found myself in a very chipper mood for the rest of the afternoon.

Yesterday seemed to be a long day. Not work wise, but time wise. I would think it was later than it was and find that it wasn’t. The good thing about that is that once the work day is done and everyone goes home, it feels like we have much more time to do the things we enjoy. For me it was swimming, throwing on some jeans (which is one of my favorite things here because it goes completely against the climate and feels special when I get to do it), making some popcorn and lounging on the couch while I watched the Bachelor online. Yes, trashy TV, but I love it and will not apologize for it. :) There was sort of this feeling of being on holiday which was strange but fun. 

I’ve been feeling, oh, I don’t know… like I’m not doing a whole heck of a lot these days. I know that being a mom and a wife are important roles, but because we’re running a mission, and I think because I came here to work before we got married, there’s that part of me that feels like I should be doing more. I feel like I should be up and around and doing all this stuff during the work day, just because everyone else around me is working. That’s something that I picked up when I first moved here because it’s a principle of how we operate, which makes sense, but being a mom throws that sometimes and I find my busiest times of the day are often after everyone leaves and it’s just us. I guess the transition from just “missionary” to “missionary mom” is one I’m still trying to figure out. :) I think I just need to give myself more room to “be” and not worry so much about the “how to”. Funny that I go through this over and over, even after being here for over two years. 

Olivia is doing great. She’s growing like crazy. Yesterday I finally got sick of looking at the stuff that’s been stashed in her room and did some sorting and reorganizing. Friends have given us a bunch of clothes and they all needed to be sorted by size and put away properly, rather than stashed in plastic bags while sitting on top of things. I also went through her drawers and sorted through her clothes and put away the things that don’t fit anymore. I can’t believe how strange that made me feel. At first I was thinking that I felt guilty for putting away perfectly good clothes, but now I realize I feel like this because she’s already growing up. She was so tiny when we brought her home and now she’s looking like a normal baby, all chubby and growing. She hardly fits in the kitchen sink for baths anymore and I’m going to have to buy her an actual tub soon. She’s getting way better at entertaining herself, and it’s kind fun to eaves drop when she’s just sitting in her bouncy chair. She’s very chatty and I love having “conversations” with her because she’s figuring out that she can get a response when she makes noises, and she LOVES it. Her hair is starting to go curly. We weren’t sure what was going to happen with it because it was so fine and straight when we brought her home. Her afro is definitely coming in though and she sort of has this little frohawk going on – right down the middle of her head. And, yesterday she was so grow up that she got to do something that I know she’s been looking forward to for a long time…she wore her first pair of SHOES. LOL. Okay, maybe it was me that was looking forward to it for a long time. We’ve received several pairs of very cute shoes from friends and now she can finally wear her first pair. Man, I didn’t think I would be this girly with my kids. Sigh. You can see how excited she was though… ;)
Well, I have a newsletter calling my name and a headache moving in. Hope you have a great rest of the week.
This entry was posted in this is life by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

4 thoughts on “It’s Thursday and I don’t have much to blog about…

  1. Cute shoes, cuter smile! Now we will all have to work on Chris so that he understands women of all ages need a “working” wardrobe of shoes, even in Haiti. I imagine you could name the categories they need to cover. I was thinking mud sandals, Sunday shoes for both dry/dusty and rainy seasons. I know there are more…………Hugs Barb J :)

  2. UGH, she’s officially getting those baby fat rolls…. I can’t stand it. She is so darn CUTE!!!!!!!!!And that smile!!!!!Isn’t she getting fun???I LOVE this age, they are so adorable and before they get mobile. YIKES!!!!!!!Sorry, I know you have a life in there somewhere, but when there’s a baby involved esp one as CUTE as Liv’s……. that’s all I see…… :)Have a great weekend – tomorrow starts Spring Break… even though it’s 38 and snowing…. :)

Leave a Comment

