We’re here and fine

Haiti has been making world news again. It always makes me sad to know that this usually only happens when things fall apart here.


So, what’s going on for us? For us specifically it’s business as usual. We’re about an hour and a half out of Port au Prince so things are quiet and normal. Not so much in other parts of the country. Yesterday, as you’ve probably already heard, there was rioting in Port au Prince and thousands of people descended on the Presidential Palace demanding the resignation of Rene Preval. I found a good article on CNN online – Haitian rioters storm presidential palace.

We’re just going to keep doing what we’re doing and be very careful. We’ve got friends in the US State Department and USAID so we can get pretty good updates about what’s really going on and a bit of an inside scoop on who’s doing what. I have a lot of thoughts and opinions about things, but don’t feel like writing about them unless you want to hear about it. If you do let me know in the comment section and I’ll let you know what I think.
This entry was posted in this is haiti, this is life by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

5 thoughts on “We’re here and fine

  1. I would very much like to hear input about what is going on just to learn more about Haiti. I have been listening to an internet spot called haitixchange.com with some interviews. if you know of better sources or can share I am interested. take care of yourself, prayers for you and all the missionaries,and all the hungry in Haiti.

  2. Leslie,Of course I want to hear what you think. I want all of your thoughts about what is going on. If you don’t want to blog about it, just send an e-mail.V

  3. The lady has my initials and my thoughts, weird:Of course I want to hear what you think. I want all of your thoughts about what is going on. If you don’t want to blog about it, just send an e-mail.V T

  4. Please tell us Leslie…I have a friend who planned to travel to Haiti next week, and now isnt sure if that will happen.

  5. I don’t have the same initials but I do have the same thoughts about this. :) Of course I want to hear what you think. I want all of your thoughts about what is going on. If you don’t want to blog about it, just send an e-mail.A small group email is fine.

Leave a Comment

