Don’t rouse me from my coma

It rained this morning. We were still in bed and I was barely aware of it because I was in a deep sleep. Actually, it could have probably been equated with a coma of sorts. At one point I realized that someone was pinching me. I knew I wasn’t pinching myself, and there’s only one other person that sleeps in the bed, so it must have been Chris. I couldn’t, for the life of me, move a single limb. I mean, I was moving things in my head, but nothing was responding. In fact, I remember thinking, “I bet I look really sweet right now! Mouth wide open, probably some drool dribbling out…fabulous.” Eventually my mind and body connected and I was able to grunt a bit at the next pinch, which was my husbands way of rousing me so we could snuggle. Snuggling and rain are a good combo. We even turned off the alarm because rain in Haiti means people hide and we didn’t think our workers would be showing up today, but they did and Chris had to get up. He let me stay in my coma type state for a few more minutes. This is the pay off for getting up in the night with the baby. It works for me. I could probably manage to pull myself out of bed at the alarm, but if someone is going to let me sleep in for a bit I would be a crazy fool to not take it. Seriously. 

Speaking of baby waking up in the night… I had decided not to share what I’m about to share because I didn’t want to be all braggy about my daughter, but I’m going to share it because it’s a vital part of my newest dilemma. About two and a half weeks ago Liv started sleeping through the night, completely on her own. It was a miracle and we were the very grateful recipients. I forgot how amazing being able to wake up at 5:40 am is, and to actually be functioning to boot. So, this lasted one week. And then she decided she needed to be waking up again. Since that important decision was made she’s woken up, every night, like she used to before the sleeping stretch. I mean, child, do you remember how nice it was to sleep all through the night! It was nice. It was beautiful. Don’t you want to experience that feeling again? Please? Something that we love about Liv is that when she wakes up and realizes that she is in fact awake, and out of her bed, she always busts out the biggest smiles, like it’s so great to be awake. We love it. Except for when it happens at 2, 3 or 4 am. Then I have to remind myself that she’s three months old and clueless as to how the world works. I mean, it’s still dark, it’s time to close your eyes… Maybe this is just God’s funny way of say, “Yeah, that’s what you get for thinking you have a super baby.” 
I suppose I should go get some work done. I’ve just started a beast of a project. There are no other words to describe it. It involves entering data from every single filter installation form that we have. That would be about 7000. It’s been done in various ways over the past 4 years, but we need to tighten up the system and I’m the best woman for the job. Or the only woman for the job as the case may be. 
Off to enter, enter, enter.
This entry was posted in this is life by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

One thought on “Don’t rouse me from my coma

  1. You know, I never want to be the bearer of bad news … but Lydie still wakes up about 50% of the time at around 2:30 or 3 —– and the child is 6 and a half months old.Here is the motto over at our house – has been for years and years …“we will sleep when we’re dead”

Leave a Comment

