So very, very, rested


Another Monday under our belts :)

We had a super restful weekend. I don’t remember the last time I felt this rested and relaxed. Amazing. I think it was enough of a boost that I feel like I can keep moving forward. There were a few days in the last few weeks that were questionable. 

By the time Chris got home on Friday I had cleaned the house and gotten things back in order. For some reason I physically need to do this to regain my sanity. I think it’s a process of reclaiming my space, putting some order back etc. It just feels good, and once it’s done I can really unwind. 

When Chris got home I asked him if he wanted the good news or the bad news first. Bad news. The washing machine was broken. Thankfully it was him that broke it, or rather, pushed it over the edge. For the record, when your pump is on the way out, don’t put about 15 pairs of cement covered work gloves and a pair of cement covered work boots in the washer. Just don’t. It will never turn out well. I anticipated problems when I had to vacuum the gravel out before I ran a rinse cycle on it just to wash all the cement out of it’s system. We now have a code word for those times where Chris is so frustrated that he might not be thinking clearly or rationally. Washing machine. That’s all. 

The new pump has been ordered for the washer and should be here in a few weeks when a group comes in. The good news was that I had, in my cleaning efforts, fixed the electric ignitors on the stove. Two of the little sparker thingies had fallen down inside (I don’t even want to think about that and the fact that they were laying in insulation while flicking on and off) so I pulled them up, got a bit tricky and got them back in place. The harder, more time consuming part of it was trying to get all the gas hoses lined up again. I managed and now everything works better than the day we brought it home. I, am a hero. Er, heroine. 

When Chris got home on Friday we spent the rest of the afternoon hanging out watching movies. It was the perfect kind of afternoon – rainy and overcast – which meant it was nice and cool and no one was out. Translation = it was super quiet and no one bothered us. 

Saturday we went to visit some new friends down at Kaliko. They rent one of the houses there so they get free access to the beach and resort. We had a good visit and spent the afternoon in the pool. That was a big treat. Liv and I had fun swimming and discovering the little fountains. 


Yesterday we had a missionary meeting here. It was nice to have everyone over and to get a good visit in. Some of the guys that are working at a local orphanage wanted to come give us a hand with whatever we needed today, so they arrived here at 6 am and got to work. With a limited staff this week it was very much appreciated. They worked hard and because of the extra hands, all of the jacks are down in the new building and a bunch of the form work is down. Stuff was sorted and returned to the rental shops which is a burden off our shoulders. I’m actually amazed at how much got done today. I was fully expecting this process to take the good part of a week. The guys will be coming back tomorrow to help out again and to build some filters so they can see how it all happens. 

Time to go hang out with my little fam. Thanks again for your prayers over the last little while. Chris and I have had this sense of calm settle in. We know that we’ll need to be a bit hard with our staff for the next little while just to reset the boundaries a bit, but we know that it will, in the long run, lead to more productivity around here. All in all though, it’s just part of being here and being in leadership. God has given us standards and I don’t think we do anyone any justice by not having standards for how the mission and it’s staff need to conduct themselves. We’ve also been able to catch up on some much needed sleep thanks to Little Miss O being downstairs again. I have no idea if this will continue come Thursday night, so I am going to fully appreciate it while we have it.
~Leslie
This entry was posted in uncategorized by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

4 thoughts on “So very, very, rested

  1. I’m so glad your week is going better for you! I love seeing the pictures of your little muffin getting bigger she is soooo sweet!!! Take care!LoveErin and Kevin

  2. Oh my gosh, Chris is his father’s son!!! Last year Jerry decided to put the scum-filled pond filter inserts (made of foam) through the washing machine while I was away. Yep, it broke the pump.Did Chris tell you about the time he put VW engine parts in my BRAND NEW dishwasher, resulting in an oily scum covering all surfaces? And when he carried the still dripping parts back out to the garage, the oily water dripped all the way down the beige-carpeted hallway?Sigh.In loving sympathy,Gramma Rolling

  3. watching Olivia for the weekend sounds perfect….if only i could find tickets for less than $800! yikes. I really wanted to visit on Christmas vacation but it’s looking like a slim possibility right now! :(

Leave a Comment

