Manna from heaven?

So today I decided to make my first attempt at bread from scratch, sans bread machine. We’re talking old school knead it, rise it, knead it, rise it, rinse, repeat. 
Where did it all go wrong? This, is not what I had in mind…
I knew there was a problem when I came back to it after letting “rise” for an hour and not much progress had been made. I was hoping I was just imagining things, but no. There wasn’t much progress made for the entire process. Boo! Despite the outcome, I will try again. Not sure why it all went so terribly wrong. I’m wondering if it’s the flour. Haitian flour tends to be a bit heavier than regular flour. Who knows. 
While I was letting it rise I spent some time working with Matt teaching filter installations and doing some testing on the new filter. That was kind of fun because I don’t usually get to do this stuff. 
The weekend was fun and relaxing. We went to the beach. I mean, we live on the beach, so we went to a different beach. With a bunch of friends. It was fun. I realized as we hit the road that I had forgotten my camera. Boo! So, sorry, but no beach pictures which makes me sad because this particular beach is a little pocket of paradise that is so unlike other parts of Haiti that we know. There are no people, the sand is white, the water is clear. It’s beautiful. 
Yesterday the guys went for a hike while I stayed home doing home things. I got some stuff put away and sorted which made me feel productive. I like it when things have homes, I just sometimes let them be homeless for a bit, which actually annoys me. I can’t explain the cycle. Part of what I was putting away was the two HUGE duffel bags of stuff that was collected for our little family from some people connected to a team thats in right now. The plan was to send it in November but the team had to cancel last minute and reschedule for this week. What a huge blessing. There were so many wonderful and useful things in there. There is only so much we can use so we get to bless others by passing on the extras which makes me happy. If anyone that was a part of collecting the baby stuff for us is reading, THANK YOU, THANK YOU, THANK YOU! We were completely overwhelmed by your love and generosity. 
Well, the work day is done and I have a headache moving in so I’m going to go rest for a bit. I’ll leave you with some pictures taken with the new camera. Nothing fantastic, just me playing around a bit. 


This entry was posted in uncategorized by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

2 thoughts on “Manna from heaven?

  1. Regarding the bread, is it possible that the yeast was too old?I love your artsy photos — you have a gift, and I don’t mean the camera.Love,Gramma Rolling

  2. I’ll say I am with Gramma Rolling. The yeast was old or not enough or the water was to hot that you disolved it in. Try, try again. Everytime you make bread you get better. Slice it and toast it, it will still taste great!

Leave a Comment

