We’re having a heat wave, a tropical heat wave…

We’ve just come off of one busy but completely fun weekend. We’re having such a good visit with Ben. It’s sad that he has to leave tomorrow. It’s always so fun for me to see he and Chris together. They are such brothers in the best sense. And Ben is proving to be a super uncle. I love watching him with Olivia because they already have their own little “thing” going on. It makes me go all mushy inside. I think it means more because we’re so far away from family that any bit of time we get with them is special. 

The heat of summer has really settled in over the last few days. It was coming for the last few weeks, but last night we got to the point where it didn’t really cool down at night. There’s usually a point around 3 am where a nice blast of cool air comes down the mountains, but not last night. At breakfast we all looked like we would rather be back in bed. All the fans are going and we’re all moving a bit slower. During the dry season when it’s cooler and the humidity is very bearable it’s so easy to forget about the few months of the year where you feel like you’re in a constant state of melting. Your brain can’t function, and therefore your body doesn’t want to function. The worst part of all this is that we haven’t had rain in over a week. It’s just hot and humid. And rinse, repeat. 
We spent a lot of time swimming this weekend which was such a nice reprieve from the heat. Chris never goes swimming and he was in everyday. It’s funny, we live on the beach, but because Chris and I both grew up swimming in freshwater, it’s hard for us to get excited about the ocean. I do go in occasionally, but a cool pool is so much nicer in my opinion. Don’t get me wrong, the ocean is nice, but when it’s already 90 degrees and humid, getting out and being salty and sticky isn’t so much fun. Friday evening we were at our friend’s house in Montrouis, then Saturday at Kaliko with other friends, and yesterday back at friend A’s house again. I think we need to get a BIG blow up kiddie pool for the yard, just so Chris and Matt and I have something to sit in when it’s hot. And we’ll put it in the shade so it’s super cool. 
Saturday night we had a good visit with other friends that were out from Port. Several of them work for the US State department, and others for the UN. Chris and I often think about our life here and the people we know and it seems so strange and interesting to us at the same time. When you’re a foreigner in a place like Haiti you are naturally drawn to others in the same position. There are so many diverse and wonderful people here that we’ve gotten to know that we would never know if we were living back in North America, simply because we wouldn’t be traveling in the same circles. Here you meet someone then they introduce you to someone else and so on and so on. Soon, you step back and think of the people that you’ve met and know and you realize life is pretty interesting. We can talk about our lives here, doing development work, our crazy experiences, the things that others don’t seem to understand simply because they aren’t in our shoes. It can be so hard to explain life sometimes, so much so that we just don’t. How do you explain all of the weird and wonderful things that you might see in a 10 minute drive down the road? So much of it is about context. A lot of our life really is hard to explain. We don’t even understand it most of the time. 
I had a funny experience on Saturday morning. A missionary couple that we know was coming through with a group on their way to Terre Blanche. They were planning on dropping off a bunch of stuff for us, but when they landed in Port on Friday not one of their 32 pieces of luggage arrived with them, so we wait until next weekend when they’ve had a chance to send someone in to get it. Anyway, as we were visiting with people one of the young women in the group came up to me and told me she reads my blog. That’s so fun. She said she didn’t realize it was me until she saw Olivia. I realized I don’t really post pictures of myself. It was a fun experience. 
Ben leaves tomorrow and then I have a feeling the rest of the week will zoom by. I’m kind of hoping it does. I’ve been holding on to a sweet little thing that I’ve been excited about for several weeks. The same day that I got my camera and Chris told me about my birthday party he also asked me if I wanted to go away at the end of the month for a long weekend. Um, yes! When we found out that we wouldn’t be able to travel home as a family we made the decision to make a point of getting away for little mini-vacations as a family every few months so we can get the rest and time away that we know we need to stay fresh. It just so happens that our anniversary is next Tuesday so we’re taking an extra couple of nights and lumping it all together. The best part is that a couple that we know has volunteered to look after Olivia for us. That means that Chris and I get three whole nights away together, alone. As in, we can sleep, read, do some hiking, nap, read some more, do nothing, sleep, sleep again… we’re so excited. Is it sad that I’m so looking forward to sleeping? We’re going up to Furcy again where it’s oh so nice and cool this time of the year. When the sun is shining it’s pleasant and not sweaty. If it rains you need layers to stay warm. So. Very. Excited.
~Leslie
This entry was posted in uncategorized by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

Leave a Comment

