I’m on a blogging roll


Do you remember when I said that it’s never just one thing here? And how we had to fix our septic tank? Yeah. We got that one done and decided to expand the one for the dorms in anticipation of how much use they’re going to get. We thought we were making good progress. We thought we were getting close to being done.

Wrong. And wrong. 
A couple days ago more stinky water started bubbling up out of the earth in a completely new place. Turns out the one tank that we rerouted pipes from, still had pipes going into it from the staff bathroom and the house. The guys started digging and now the yard looks like a mouse maze. Today was the day to change out the poop pipes (yes, I said poop on my blog) and no one wanted to cut it. I wonder why? Chris decided to take one for the team and got to work. 

The two guys in yellow shirts (Jean and Israel) are standing at the dorm septic tank. Chris, in the far right of the photo is cutting pipe where the new pipe is going to get attached, running the staff bathroom “stuff” to the new septic tank – the dirt area in the middle.

So, for those of you keeping track…
Number of full septic tanks: 2
Number of new septic tanks dug: 2
Number of pipes that have been rerouted: I have no idea
The experience of living here in poop land: Priceless 
No really, if we ever move back to North America and have a septic tank overflow we are so ready
This entry was posted in uncategorized by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

4 thoughts on “I’m on a blogging roll

  1. Eeeeeuuuuwwww! We experienced a septic “failure” once. A man arrived in a shiny sewage tanker to pump out the tank. The motto on the side of his truck? “Your Crap is My Bread and Butter.” Mmmmm.Just whets the appetite, doesn’t it.But take heart. Most girls want to marry the high school jock. You picked the handy guy–better choice. ;-)

  2. Ewwwwww….. I told my husband that you’ve had nothing but septic tank problems and he said,”Yep, if they aren’t working, they aren’t working….” (isn’t he such a deep thinker! lol)Well, Leslie and Chris, I am praying that your septic gets back work! I’ll be thinking about you…. ;-(V

Leave a Comment

