Getting back in the groove.

Chris and I got back yesterday from a very restful weekend away. We love Furcy. We love it even more when it’s in the high 90’s at our house. 6000 feet is a beautiful thing, let me tell you. 

Leaving on Saturday morning was nice because we didn’t have to rush. We dropped Olivia off with our friends and ran because we weren’t up for long good-byes. Actually, Chris made me promise no long good-byes. Four days is a long time to leave your wee one for the first time!
Keeping with our ‘we’re not in a rush’ theme we stopped at the Baptist Mission for lunch. The mission has been there for a long time and has a really well established visitor area, school, hospital and other things. We had lunch in the cafeteria and ended it off with soft serve ice cream. People often ask me what I miss food wise from back home and it’s getting harder and harder to give an answer because I like everything I cook. That ice cream was amazing though. Smothered in fudge sauce…that was a treat. After lunch we took a wander through the ‘museum’. I hadn’t been in it since 2003 so it was fun to walk through now that I have more knowledge of Haiti’s past. 
The weekend at Furcy was so nice. We did a whole lot of nothing. We read a lot. We napped. We walked a bit. We read some more. We watched movies on our computer. We napped some more. It was very restful and very needed. 
Yesterday we made plans to meet up with a friend of mine for breakfast on the way down the mountain. Cara emailed me over a year ago after reading my blog and we’ve been emailing ever since. We’re very similar in so many ways, even down to the fact that we’re both new moms to girls that are only three weeks apart. In all the time that we’ve known each other we’ve only randomly met once, in the grocery store, and it was so fast. It was so nice to finally get together to visit face to face. Yes, you would think that it would have happened sooner, but it’s surprisingly difficult to get together with people here, and the time goes so fast it seems. Chris and I had a really nice time and are looking forward to being able to visit again soon. 
After breakfast we headed into Petionville and Port and spent the rest of the day running errands. We were able to pick up the new windows for the dorm on the way home, something we weren’t expecting. It’s very exciting because the one room will be finished and livable in the next couple weeks and the whole downstairs should be finished by the end of the month. Yay!
We were so ready to see Olivia by the time we picked her up. I won’t lie, I loved being able to sleep through the night and not be needed for a few days, but I missed her. She stayed up at Canaan, an orphanage up the road from us, with some friends of ours. It was fun to have everyone thank us for letting them look after Olivia for the time we were away. Apparently she’s got plans to be Miss Congeniality. Mandy and Joel, who were the ones primarily looking after her, told us that if everyone on this planet could be guaranteed a baby like Olivia more people would have more kids. That feels good :)
This entry was posted in uncategorized by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

Leave a Comment

