One last one

My posts have been few and far between lately. Sorry about that. Chris once told me that we judge others by their actions and ourselves by our intentions. So, I’ve had good intensions, I just haven’t gotten to the acting stage. Frankly, part of it is that I don’t want to be in front of my computer so much. The other part is that there really hasn’t been that much time.


My aunt is arriving today. In fact her plane should be touching down in 8 minutes. I’m excited. Other than my parents she’s the only other person from “my world” that has attempted a trip here since I’ve moved. It’s hard to communicate everything that Haiti is to people if they don’t come and experience it for themselves, so whenever someone can come, it gives us more of a connection, and I’m really looking forward to that within my extended family. 

So, with the impending visit I’ve spent the morning cleaning and tidying and getting things ready. I’m almost done. The biggest job was getting the dorm where she’s staying ready. We had a pain fiasco that we’re just now coming out of. We decided to paint the floors because we had to fill some sections with cement and it didn’t match what was there. Well, three days after it was all painted it still wasn’t dry. Only in some sections though. So yesterday, after giving it another day and a half, we got the guys to scrape the floor and this morning it was still tacky when I mopped. We used oil paint, which should not mop up, but for some reason that seemed to be the ticket today. I got a good portion of it cleaned up so that you can actually walk on it now. We’ve decided that the other room will just be left as is because this is way too much hassle. 

The rest of the work was making sure things like towel racks and mirrors were up, bathroom was cleaned, bed was put together and made…that kind of stuff. It’s all done and I’m happy with how it came together. Now I just need to get the dishes done and I think I’m finished. Whew!

I’m not sure how much time there will be for posting in the next week. If you don’t here from me it’s just because I’m having a good time ;)
This entry was posted in uncategorized by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

One thought on “One last one

  1. Oooh sticky paint, it’s one of those messes we don’t want to think too much about. To paint our concrete porch floor the painter had to apply an acid treatment first so the paint would go on correctly. It does look really good and I understand it will keep the concrete surface nice. I hope your visit with your aunt is lots of fun. Olivia gets cuter every time I see a new photo. Her eyes are amazing, so clear and deep. You have a cutie for sure! Hugs Barb J:)

Leave a Comment

