Thoughts from the ground

I haven’t done a “Haiti” post in a while. What I mean by that is a post that is just about Haiti and things here, not about what Olivia did or didn’t do in a particular day, or where we went, or what I cooked…you get the idea. 


It struck me as I was walking across the yard to go check on the generator actually. We have a little dealy on the wall in the house but I can never remember how to read it to see if the batteries are fully charged, so I decided to wander across the yard and check the inverter. There are little lights on the charger and inverter that are orange if the batteries aren’t charged and green if they are. It was all orange lights. 

As I was walking I noticed how much heat was coming up off the ground. In the middle of summer the amount of heat that comes radiating off the ground is amazing. The sun is often reflecting off of the dirt right back up at you. The mission property has many trees. So many that if you find us on Google Earth, you can’t actually see  the mission, because it’s all trees. It’s so nice to have that much shade, but it makes me forget just how hot it is outside. And, it turns me into a whiner when I do have to go out in direct sunlight. Last night we had rain too, so the heat that was coming up today as I was walking through the sunny parts was nice and humid. The sticky kind of heat that makes you feel like someone coated you in slime. 

The rain we had last night was good and hard. We can usually tell that the rain is coming because it starts to get overcast, but often the humidity will settle in hard right before and it can be quite obnoxious. Last night was a little gentler because it had been over cast and breezy for most of the afternoon. We like to sit on the deck and watch the storms move in. Being on the ocean we see the change in water currents, the cloud movements, the lightning hitting from all directions (for some amazing lightning pics you need to go visit Matt’s blog), and even the rain move and change. When there isn’t much else to do, and it’s such a nice reprieve from the heat, it makes for good entertainment.

The rain that we’ve had over the last couple of months has been mediocre at best. I was starting to feel like we were the boy who cried wolf because we kept telling Matt about all the amazing rains we get through the summer, and then when it would rain it would be a “sprinkle” which really means a normal rain for most places, but for the tropics it was nothing to go getting excited about. Last night was one of those rains where water really started to move through the yard. It got so cool that I had to put pants on and Olivia was in jeans, long sleeves and slippers. 

We watched the water in front of our house turn from shades of blue and aqua to brown as the neighbors canals and yards emptied their catchment into the sea. Today as I was walking back from checking the batteries I looked at the water and saw the distinct color breaks that I so love. From the beach out several hundred feet the water is one shade of aqua. Beyond that is a darker blue, and way beyond that another shade of blue. Sometimes we see 4-5 different colors present and it is always beautiful to me. I don’t understand the dynamics, but I love it. 

This time of year always gives me clothing dilemmas too. It can be cool in the morning and I want to wear one thing, but then I have to remind myself that by 10 am it will be very warm. By noon it will be obnoxiously warm. Some options just feel like self inflicted torture. Other times I think it would be nice to wear a particular ensemble, but then I have to mentally think through everything that I’m going to be doing that particular day to account for how much I might sweat and weather the clothes will stand up to it or not. Denim, even shorts, usually aren’t a great option, but until I fix the button on my other shorts and drop a few pound that snuck back on, they seem to be the only option. Capris can even be too much most days, and I need to make a few more light skirts so I can have some sanity while wearing them. I don’t know how women do long dresses here. I just don’t. So yes, I spend way too much time thinking about what to wear in a morning, but what’s a girl to do?

Haiti is a place of irony for many reasons. In fact there is no end of examples. Today’s came when Thony, one of our staff, yelled in the window to tell me that EDH, Electricite de Haiti, had just come on. Yes, just come on after we had been running the generator for about 3 hours and just fully charged our batteries. Isn’t that always the way it goes? 

~Leslie
This entry was posted in uncategorized by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

Leave a Comment

