Throwing this out there

I’m wondering if anyone out there in blogger land might be able to help me with something.

I’ve loved taking pictures for a long time, and have a film SLR camera, but buying and developing film here in Haiti isn’t feasible. I have a digital camera, but it doesn’t give me the quality of pictures that I would like to take (it was a hand me down and has some issues). I’m looking for a digital SLR camera, 6 MP or higher. I’ve been looking on Ebay for the last couple of months, but I’m on a very limited budget and haven’t been able to find that amazing deal yet.
What I’m wondering is whether any of you that are reading know of anyone that is looking to upgrade their digital SLR and is considering selling their old one? Like I said, I’m on a limited budget and would only be able to pay about $175 for it. I know that sometimes people know people that don’t worry about that as much and just like to bless others so I thought I would throw it out there.¬†
If you are one of those people with a camera that you’d like to pass on, or know someone who is, can you email me at office@cleanwaterforhaiti.org? I’m going to keep cruising Ebay and I’ll let you know if I find anything. I just wanted to put it out there to see if the grapevine would come up with anything.
Thanks for your help!
This entry was posted in uncategorized by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

3 thoughts on “Throwing this out there

  1. Your sister in law Liz sent me here to help. (You can thank her later, I guess.) Two cameras I highly recommend and use myself are the Panasonic Lumix LZ line. I have an LZ2, but I think they have LZ7’s now, not sure, but this is a great little camera in the $250 range. The macro is excellent and it’s a nice little camera that takes great pictures. My other camera is a little higher priced and more for like the “serious amateur” photographer, and it is a Canon Powershot S3IS. It’s about $300-$400, and let me tell you, the way it picks up color will shock you. Canon literally wrote the book on digital cameras so it goes without saying that they have the best stuff. Hope this helps.

  2. Hi Jessie,Thanks for your comment!I love Canon products as well and agree with you about their quality. My film camera is a Canon Rebel and it takes great pictures, but like I said, it’s film, and not great or what I need it for.I also have a Canon Powershot 300 (I think). It’s part of the ELPH series, the really small ones. I got that one before I came to Haiti so I could pack it in my pocket and it’s been a great little camera, but doesn’t offer the SLR settings.The hand me down camera that I got is actually a Canon Powershot S2IS, but it has some issues like a spot that shows up on many pictures, and for some reason it doesn’t want to focus well on the SLR settings, so I’m back to using automatic which I could do with my other pocket camera.I would love to get into a Rebel or something similar in a Nikon or Olympus.

Leave a Comment

