Non-Bullet Post

Since orders seemed to have died off for the clutches I decided to move the post down. It’s still there, you just need to scroll down if you’re interested. I didn’t want to take it off completely because I know some people are still looking. Just a reminder that the order deadline is September 4th.


On my lap as I type is a very squirmy Miss O. She doesn’t like when I type and she can’t. Sometimes I let her say hello to the grandmas on MSN, but that’s about as far as it goes. 

jhhj b,,,,,,,,,,,

There, her very first contribution to the blog. I fully expect to have her writing this thing before the year is out. 

I just looked at the calendar and realized that in two weeks and two days I’ll be getting on a plane and flying west. I remember when I would get so excited I would count sleeps and such. Now the trips seem to sneak up on me. 

Today we have students arriving for a training class. We haven’t done a class in about a year for various reasons. I keep feeling like we’re not ready, but then I do the mental check and find that we are ready. The nice thing is that the material is the same each time we do it so it actually gets easier each time. Should be interesting trying to teach with a wee one…

Speaking of the wee one. She’s a super crawler now. We had just gotten used to her crawling, and that it took her a bit of time to get her bearings, and then she went and got speedy on us. She’s exploring new territory too. Yesterday she found the diaper pail. We’re trying to teach her about stairs. Thankfully no crashes yet. Today she found some gyneps – this little fruit that we have here that has a shell on the outside and a pit inside covered in slimy sweet stuff. Yesterday she figured out how to open the shell on the gyneps with her teeth. That was, of course, after she would take them out of the bowl and throw them on the floor. I guess she found a stray today and when I saw something resembling snot on her chin I got suspicious until I found half a gynep, pitt still attached to the shell, with all the pulp chewed off. I’ll give her credit, she figured out how to eat the things, and she’s only 7 months old. 

My back is giving me problems again. We went to Port on Friday and hit some really bad bumps. When I say really bad I mean that we hit a series of them and the truck just started going. It’s called harmonics and the closest thing I can say to give you an idea about what it feels like is being double bounced on a trampoline, repeatedly. Once the truck gets going through the first couple holes, and starts bouncing, there’s nothing you can do to stop the momentum. I was trying to hold down the car seat and myself and still managed to bump my head on the inside of the cab. I’ll be honest. At that point I was cursing Haiti and it’s bad roads and the fact that our van is already three months past it’s original delivery date. It was just sort of a cracking point. By the time we got home from Port I felt pretty beat up. Now I’m trying to keep the ibuprofen flowing to take the edge off. Thankfully I can go see the chiropractor in a couple weeks. 

Well, I’m going to sign off there. I’ll try to post something this week, though I know it’s going to be busy for us. 

~Leslie
This entry was posted in uncategorized by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

Leave a Comment

