Hanna Hits

We just got through Gustav, and now we have Hanna. 

Sunday we had bigger waves than normal, and it started to get overcast. Yesterday, more of the same. Last night the waves were getting bigger and the rain started around dinner time. And it rained. And it rained. And it’s still raining, and the waves are HUGE. I was here through the hurricane season in 2005 and we had some big waves then, but I don’t remember them ever being this big. We like to watch the hurricanes path online and this one took a big dive south last night to head down to Haiti. Chris checked and there’s another one headed our way. I know the hurricanes can cause a lot of damage, but I totally appreciate the reprieve from the heat. Maybe it’s just the Canadian in me. 
Yesterday we had to fire one of our workers for theft. It makes us incredibly sad because he’s been here for over three years. It just wasn’t fun on any level. 
Because of the rain and weather today no one is at work. We LOVE rain days. It’s like a snow day back in Canada. No one goes out, nothing happens, you just stay home, hunker down and enjoy the quiet. The guys are going into St. Marc to hook up our friends power inverter and I’m staying here with the wee one to sew and do other Leslie things. 
~Leslie
This entry was posted in uncategorized by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

Leave a Comment

