September 10, live from Seattle

Another post written while traveling…

I’m sitting here in Seattle, playing with my new computer (ack!). The old lappy was getting tired and not moving so fast these days. Poor thing. I went through security with it in Miami yesterday and the guy working the line where things go through the scanner looked at it and said, “Wow, that’s a bit beaten up!” and then proceeded to pick it up and examine it like a beaten up computer is the perfect place for an innocent looking girl like me to hide something suspicious. Cuz I look like that.

The other super special item waiting for me was my new camera (ack again!). Mmmm. It was good timing. The one I got from Chris’ brother a few months ago is starting to be fussy. As in, not wanting to hold battery charge and not wanting to focus. Sooo, me and the new camera are going to have some fun getting to know each other. It’s just beefy and I’m so excited to be able to play with it.

I arrived just fine with all of my stuff last night. I figure if I can get myself and my bags across a country in a day we’re doing well.  By the time I got to bed last night it was well after 2 am my time. Would you believe I slept for about 3 hours and then was wide awake? Ugly, I know. That’s what I get for waking up at 5:40 am every. single. day. I figure I can nod off on the plane for the short time that it’ll be in there. I was thinking as I was landing in Seattle that I would basically be coming to the house, sleep, then be back at the airport in less than 12 hours. Crazy. I haven’t done the trip this way since before we got married because we usually fly into Seattle then drive the van up, and break it up with a few days of visiting here.

So, thoughts on the first world so far. Maybe it’s too soon? I noticed yesterday as I was waiting for my flight out of Miami that a lot of people here have a hard time sitting still. Especially business men. They seem to always need to be calling someone or using their computers or something. Not sure if it’s because they absolutely need to use every waking minute to work, or if they just can’t sit still without doing anything. Like they don’t feel they’re being productive unless the phone is attached to their head. Just an observation.

It was funny to me too to realize how much people will pay for a bottle of water, when there’s a drinking fountain right in plain sight. As I was buying lunch I found myself craning my neck to see if I could see a fountain to fill my water bottle up at. Seriously, why pay for water when you can get it for free? I know that some might argue about the quality of the water, but really, it’s water. Can you imagine what a Haitian would think of buying water when you can get it free 20 feet away??

It’s getting light out. I’m going to go take a shower and get myself all pretty. I always feel like such a grub when I get back here because I usually only comb my hair when I get out of the shower (it’s curly, and I always have it up in Haiti so I can get away with it), and never wear make up. It’s nice when I’m not sweating so much that I can J

This entry was posted in uncategorized by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

2 thoughts on “September 10, live from Seattle

  1. Welcome back Les,The guys perpetually on the phone in the airports, ugh. If the airlines go through with allowing cell phone use on airplanes I may have to give up flying. Make up would sort of slide off your face at home wouldn’t it? Now that you are back in the north you will probably need to wear some for the wedding. I think you missed Ike and then flew around him as he headed here to Illinois after making a huge mess in Texas. Yes, Ike came to Illinois and made a mess here too, smaller but still a mess. Roads closed due to water, our cute little creek became a big river and shut the road down. We didn’t flood but plenty of people did. Did you cross paths with any celebs as you flew out? Matt Damon and Wycliff Jean traveled to Haiti and went to Gonaives and Cabaret. It is good for more people to know and carry out the word. They have a bigger audience than any of us and I hope it helps.Enjoy your family and friends and have a good visit. Olivia wants you to have a good visit too.Talk to you Thursday evening, and until then hugs.Barb J :)

  2. Thank you sooo much for the updates — I was starting to have withdrawal symptoms.I hope you’re having a wonderfully restful time with your family and that your girlfriend’s wedding went well.Love,Gramma Rolling

Leave a Comment

