My visit in bullet points

I’m leaving tomorrow. Already. But I’m happy because I miss my man and my girl, and they miss me, and I want to squeeze them both. But sad because I love this place so much.


In a nutshell…

  • My friend’s wedding was SO GOOD. She was super relaxed and organized so the days before were fun and relaxed. I got to know some new people and see some old friends. The day was beautiful.
  • I did all the flowers for the wedding (little known fact about me – I used to be a florist and did my own wedding flowers too). I was so happy with how they turned out. I think I actually like them better than my own, come to think of it. It was really fun for me to be able to do something like this for people that I love so much, and that it meant so much to them for me to do it.
  • Sunday was family day. We went to church and I got all warm and fuzzy when I got a nod from the stage after they realized I was there. I worked there for 3 years before moving to Haiti so it’s always a special place for me to visit. It has it’s own sense of “home” for me. We went for lunch, then my brother took us out on his boat. We went out on one of my favorite lakes and took a walk down memory lane when we went by my grandparents old cabin which was an essential part of my childhood. 
  • Monday I hung out with my brother and then spent the rest of the afternoon getting a pedicure and facial – a belated birthday present from my parents. I came home feeling more relaxed than I’ve probably felt in the last few years. It was pure bliss. 
  • Tuesday mom and I went and did some shopping. It’s what we do. It was fun. 
  • I met with our board president and his wife this morning. We had a great time of sharing and just reconnecting. Chris and I are so incredibly blessed by our board of directors and their whole approach to supporting us and the mission. They have a very big pastoral heart and their primary concern is that Chris and I are taken care of. It’s another reason why we love what we do. 
  • Olivia has her own fan club. I got to spend some time with a few of the members on Tuesday night. They also happen to be blog stalkers… he he he.
  • Packing stresses me out. At least trying to pack to head back to Haiti. Especially when I have to guess about the weight of a bag because the scale is broken. Ugh, just thinking about it makes me feel queasy. Blech. I’m always so happy once the bags are checked because I know that they’re fine.
I’ve had such a great visit home, and as it’s progressed I’ve realized how much I really needed it. It’s not that I was exhausted and worn out. I was actually doing just fine. It’s more that I just needed to reconnect. I’m the fourth generation of my family that has lived/grown up in this community. My roots are deep. I realize just how deep when I do come home. It’s in the way people say, “Oh, you’re Jean and Ralph’s granddaughter!’ or that they can say things like “Your mom/grandmother/father/grandafather has/have been so looking forward to seeing you!” and I know that they aren’t just saying it because they do know my parents or grandparents. We have streets named after my family. I can show you where my great grandfather’s dairy farm used to be. He built our house. This, is where I’m from. And I want my kid(s) to understand why I love it so much, and to eventually feel a sense of home here too. I want to share with them all the things that make this place such a big part of me. I love that no matter how long I’m gone this will always be home. And that Haiti is home too. 
This entry was posted in uncategorized by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

3 thoughts on “My visit in bullet points

  1. It sounds like you had a wonderful visit home. Now have a wonderful journey home Les. Language allows for multiple words for snow or rain in various cultures. I think missionaries could be recognized as requiring multiple terms to describe home. All equal yet different. I am sure you’re anxious to be back home with your family. Bon nuitBarb J :)

  2. What a great post Leslie! I love it that you have been so refreshed by your trip, and that you truly felt “home”….with all of the wonderful roots and history you have there.Hope your trip back to Home #2 (Haiti) goes off without a hitch!Look forward to reconnecting. Lots to catch up on! (Angeline and I are in Miami…not sure for how long).Hugs,Cara

Leave a Comment

