Thoughts in my head

It’s kind of crazy that this week is almost over! But, I’m so totally happy about it. It was hard to drag myself out of bed this morning. Chris and I have both been groggier lately. I think it’s that the days are getting just a bit shorter, and we notice it in the morning when it just starts getting light about 10 minutes before the alarm goes off. 


Yesterday I “moved in” to my new daytimer. Yes, I already have my 2009 planner. It’s kind of silly in some respects, but I find I need to do it early because we start talking about things several months in advance. I like the fresh feeling of moving things into a new one. Just a little change, and something to anticipate. Yes, I’m a dork. 

This afternoon I’m going with some lady friends to go into St. Marc and do some shopping. Mostly for fabric for Elsie’s curtains. She just moved into a new apartment at the mission she’s working at and wants to pretty it up a bit, and I know where to get the goods. I need to do a bit of shopping too while I’m there ;) I’m looking forward to an afternoon out with girls. It seems like it takes so much more effort to get together with people here for various reasons – everyone is busy, the roads are bad, it’s hot… The funny thing is, this morning when I was getting dressed I found myself thinking about what I would wear to town. Not because I want to be pretty, but rather because I know how dusty and grimy I feel when I get back and I want to wear clothes that I don’t want to wear for the rest of the week so my favorites are available. Isn’t that silly? But, it’s a reality of how I think here. 

We have another visitor arriving next week. He’s a potential volunteer that’s coming in for several weeks so we can all see if it’s a good fit. Our fall pretty much consists of visitor after visitor with a couple training classes thrown in there until the end of the year. Literally. A bunch of the people coming in are either friends or family though so we’re pretty excited about how the fall is looking, even though we know we’ll probably be tired at some point. 

We still haven’t got our container contents. There was a problem with the paperwork several months ago and our container got delayed. It was supposedly arriving on Sept. 4th, but who knows with all the weather that we’ve had in the last month. I’m kind of getting impatient because my treadmill is on there and I really, really want to start getting some exercise. It seems so crazy, but it’s hard to explain how frustrating this one factor is. It seems like one would be able to go out and go for a walk, but most of the ground here is really uneven so you spend most of the time walking at a slower pace trying not to twist an ankle. And it’s not restful like it might be back home. Again, hard to describe until you experience it. I spend a lot of time inside because of Olivia, so I’m looking forward to being able to strap her in the jolly jumper upstairs while I go for a walk in the mornings when it’s still cool enough to do that. I’m looking forward to feeling a bit better physically and mentally. I just wish it could happen sooner…

Speaking of heat. Often the months just sort of roll on here and the only noticeable difference is the heat and humidity. I was thinking the other day that it didn’t feel as warm or as humid as it did before I left and found myself feeling surprised about that. Then I realized it was the end of September and this is normal for the end of September. The END of September?!?! What? When did that creep up on me? I mean, I knew it was coming, but it just seems like such a big milestone in the year. I feel like there’s lead up and anticipation to the summer months here because you know the rain is coming after months of dust. And then it does, but so does the humidity and you find yourself whining a lot about something you wanted. But, when the rains start getting fewer, it happens very gradually and you can miss it. You just start realizing that it’s been a few days or a week since the last one, and that you can walk through the house without breaking a sweat. Oh sure, the air still feels heavy on some days, like it does today, and you tell yourself that you need rain just to break that, but you know it might be like that for a couple of days. And then it stops. The rain is done and you find yourself in November. And then December. And another year is done. Just like that. 

Tomorrow will mark the 3 year anniversary of the day I got on a plane to move to Haiti. It’s amazing to me to see how much has happened in my life since then. I went from being single to married to being a parent. What a ride. As crazy as life can be here I see how “normal” it is for us now, if there is such a thing. There are things we accept as being part of the life we live and others that are still hard to stomach sometimes. Does it get easier as the years go by? Yes. And no. Some things do and others don’t. I watch Chris and see how he’s adapted over the last 6+ years and sometimes it amazes me. I remember when I first moved and how often I would cry about things. I usually had a good meltdown every few weeks just to get it out of my system. I knew the first year would be the hardest – the whole starting from scratch thing. Chris warned me about that and told me that if I could get through that first year, things would get better, and they have. This is our home now and we like it. Yes, there are downsides, but for the most part life is good and we feel like we’re accomplishing something and making a difference in people’s lives. What more could you ask for?

Our internet is slow this morning so I have no pictures for you, sorry.

~Leslie
This entry was posted in uncategorized by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

Leave a Comment

