This and that.

Wow, it’s weird being the only chick in the hen house. A hen house full of engineering types none the less. Owen and Matt are currently sitting at the table trying to figure out how to get the most pieces of a mold on one sheet of steel so they can go crazy and cut tons of pieces. Then Manes can go crazy and weld them all together and we can get caught up on mold orders. Right now we have orders for 12 I think. It takes Manes about 8-9 days to cut and weld one mold, so the assembly line idea is a big deal right now. Having people waiting for molds and filter stuff is a good problem for us to have. It means that things are happening and people are building filters and projects are working, which means we’re doing our job right. That’s a good feeling.


Owen arrived just fine on Tuesday, only after some minor engine trouble and a plane switch in Miami. He’s settling in well and seems to be enjoying things here. I always wonder what kind of a first impression people have of us. I know I shouldn’t, but it’s hard not to think about these things when the initial meeting often happens at the airport where we end up having to yell at people to not touch our bags etc. Then we have to drive in Port, and sometimes our visitors have to sit in the back of the truck. Thankfully I think Owen thinks we’re okay. You can check out his blog if you want to see a not so flattering picture of me making these yesterday…

Yes, I was oh-so-domestic and made a loaf of bread (thanks to the bread machine) and a couple batches of bagels. Yes, bagels. They were actually pretty easy, believe it or not. I used this recipe. They turned out pretty good for the first attempt and we enjoyed some with breakfast this morning. 

Now, for those of you camera types, particularly those of you that use a dSLR (digital SLR – aka the nice fancy cameras like the one I got) I need some help. I have a good book that has been helpful with learning about some photography stuff, but my head just starts to spin when it comes to learning about aperture and f-stops. Seriously, sometimes it feels like reading Greek. Do you know of any good online resources where I could check some of this stuff out. I haven’t done a Google search yet, just haven’t had the time. Just wondering if you have any recommendations. 

In other news this morning… the last block went up on the new apartment. The. very. last. block. That’s such a weird feeling. The bosses will be getting things cleaned up and cleared up so we can start moving on to the next phase – doing all the form work for the roof. That’ll take a few weeks at best. It just feels so strange to be at that point though. We knew this project was going to take a long time, and in some ways it has, but the walls for the apartment went up fast and it’s making me excited about seeing the building move towards being done. Here are some pictures taken this morning…

The future kitchen dead ahead. It looks beautiful to me :0) Maybe it’s that it’s about 3 times the size of the current kitchen…

And turn yourself about… where you find the living room. Actually the living room starts at the wall and goes beyond to the window shaped holes beyond Michel (in the red shirt).

Standing on the master bedroom deck looking into the master bedroom and hallway and second bedroom beyond that. 

The bathroom.

The deck from the top of the steps. Yes, we have a tree growing up through the deck. A mango tree to be exact. There’ll be a railing on this side of the tree to section it off from the master bedroom deck.
This entry was posted in this is life by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

2 thoughts on “This and that.

  1. I wish I could tell you how I stumbled upon your blog but I can’t remember. I have it in my Google Reader now and really enjoy it. I just wanted to say that I am so impressed with your bagels!

  2. Hi, your request for a lesson indigital photography can be answered at digg.com in today’s news.They have lots of news on tech stuffand photoshop.

Leave a Comment

