Sometimes I just want to cry.


There are days here where it feels like a bunch of stuff just falls on you all at once. Those are the days where I just want to cry. Just to get it out of my system. 

Yesterday started out normally. I sat down to get to work and ended up having an issue with the file I was wanting to open. I got frustrated and impatient. I had to get up to get something and as I did I bumped my cup of coffee. The cup of coffee that was sitting in just the wrong spot. The cup of coffee that splashed onto my laptop. 
UGH.
I mean, I’ve splashed small amounts of coffee onto my computer before. Nothing major though. This time a did a really good job of it though and managed to fry my keyboard. Yes, this is the computer that I have only owned for ONE MONTH. 
Have you ever thought of what you would do in a situation where you have a necessary piece of something electronic and don’t have anywhere you can take it to get it fixed? 
And what do you do when you know it was all caused by you? You and your silly frustration and very poor planning (Ergh, why did I leave my coffee cup there????). 
Thankfully I have Matt. Matt somehow learned how to take computers apart and figure out how they work. In case you’ve ever wondered what your laptop looks like on the inside, this is it…



After getting the keyboard out and cleaning it up, it was determined that it’s definitely fried. I was able to locate a replacement on Ebay last night and it’ll arrive in 3.5 weeks with the next group of visitors. Now, if I could just fine a new touch pad… sigh. Chris just got back from a visit to Canaan, an orphanage run by some friends of ours, and he borrowed me a keyboard that I can plug into my lappy! Everything else on my computer works, so I was just going to mouse click away on mine and use the old mission laptop (talking ancient here) to do email and any heavy typing. I love my husband :0)
And, as if that wasn’t enough frustration for all of us, (because believe me, when these things happen, they’re a group effort around here) last night Jean had to go to St. Marc to get more lids and drive them back to Pierre Payen so they could get stained and be ready for deliveries today. Frustrating in the fact that we didn’t realize we were out of lids… Anyway, Jean had to take the VW because the blue truck had a flat and the red truck was already loaded for today’s deliveries. On the way to St. Marc the truck stopped. Chris told him how to fix it. What Jean didn’t mention is that the brakes were bad. The next call Chris got was to tell him that the brakes had gone out completely and Jean had been in an accident. He and Thony hit a big truck as they were trying to avoid hitting a scooter. Jean had the right of way, but right of way means nothing here and the truck pulled out in front of him anyway. No one was badly hurt, thank God. Jean has a sore wrist and Thony bumped his head on the inside of the window hard enough to break it, but wasn’t cut or anything. The front left corner of the VW and drivers door got smacked up pretty good, but the guys seem to think we can get it fixed pretty easily. 
Yep, one of those days where you just feel like crying.
This entry was posted in uncategorized by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

Leave a Comment

