Thanksgiving with the Canucks


Not exactly sweaters and jeans…


Olivia’s first turkey dinner. It was a hit.

Saturday we headed over to Ben and Heather’s to celebrate Canadian Thanksgiving with other Canadian missionaries. Canadian Thanksgiving has nothing to do with pilgrims, just being thankful.

We had a great potluck dinner with a turkey and all the trimmings. We got to know some new people, played some Bocce, and finished the day off with a trip down to Kaliko for a swim.

One of my favorite moments of the day was looking up from the ocean where I was swimming and seeing Olivia just trucking across the sand all on her own. Chris was watching her from the beach, but it looked so funny to see this little baby just crawling along, turning back to look at Daddy every so often, and then just going on her merry way. She was about 50-60 feet away from Chris when I got out to see her (there was no one else on the beach). She only had her pants on, and had sand up to her elbows, all over her belly and a nice little sand goatee. Wish I’d been able to get a picture of that. I think she just really wanted to go for a swim, because that’s exactly what happened right after I picked her up, and she was as happy as a clam in mud.
This entry was posted in this is life by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

Leave a Comment

