I don’t have a picture of this but apparently it’s important

Or traumatizing. Yes, definitely traumatizing considering I was just told I HAD to blog about it. I take no responsibility for the acuracy of the following because it is not my story, and really I could probably write whatever I wanted to becuase Chris never reads the blog. Though, he is good at telling people to check it out. Oh the fun I could have with that…

Anyway.

So Wednesday while Jean was teaching the practical part of the class Chris decided to take advantage of the free time and fix the brakes on the VW. Remember, this is the truck that got smashed up about a week ago because the brakes failed, but Jean didn’t really mention that as important when he called…

Now, where does one get new brake lines for a vehicle that is almost non-existent in this country? Why, you buy a big ORANGE VW bus from the guy down the road. The only other VW in the area. The VW that you’ve been trying to convince your wife is necessary for many months – just for parts. But that is a whole post on it’s own right there.

Chris likes to get down and dirty when he works. This usually means lying right on the ground. He usually comes in covered in who knows what. His hair, well it just becomes like velcro and it’s always fun to see what kinds of treasures are hidden in there. After he showers there are usually enough leaves and debris in the drain catch that you would think a tree threw up in there. The other day was no exception in this department. What was the exception was just what kind of treasures he found there. At one point he felt something crunchy get stuck in his hair. He thought it was a stick.

Nope.

It was a rat carcas.

This entry was posted in this is life by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

4 thoughts on “I don’t have a picture of this but apparently it’s important

  1. Oh for a photo of this, this is a story that has staying power. This one leaves me speechless. After the times he has tormented me with rodent carcases and such I would imagine I would be thinking PayBack! But no, it is just too horrifying to qualify as payback. How did Chris take it? I would think that even he would be creeped out by it.Nicely reported Leslie, you are a steadfast blogger to have shared this one on your blog. ThanksBarb J :)

Leave a Comment

