So many thoughts…

First off, I want to thank those of you that linked over here from the comment I left on Sew Liberated (I won’t link back because I don’t feel it’s necessary to do so. If you want to find it I know you’ll figure it out). Thanks for being willing to check out another side of the story. I appreciate it. I also want to say thanks to those of you that left comments. It was so encouraging to receive them. Sometimes I feel like people don’t want to hear about the things that don’t line up with their own ideas of how things should be. I feel like I have more of a voice now. 


Yesterday we had a great day as a family in Port. Very productive, and we came home 1) not grumpy; 2) not covered in sweat slime; and 3) not covered in dust yuck. Wow, what a difference that makes to one’s mentality. I don’t think I even really have words to tell you what it did for our dispositions. I know a vehicle is a vehicle, but we feel so completely blessed that the mission was in a position where we could ramp up our filter work and reach a bunch of families this year, AND do some amazing extras that improve things around here. Thanks to those of you that support the mission regularly. Totally not possible without you!

Yesterday is what I’m calling “the day of the dog”. Rather dead dog. So many of them, EVERYWHERE! Wow. 

We picked up Olivia’s crib yesterday. We feel so blessed by our friends. It was a cinch to put together and I had fun putting the stuff in it that I had been holding onto for the last 9 months. Even the mobile from Gramma R. I know Olivia is a bit old for a mobile, but it was the fact that I could put it in there. Liv LOVES her new bed. She usually fusses before she goes to sleep unless she’s dog tired. Usually even then though. Last night she had finished her bottle, but was wide awake. I kissed her and put her in bed. She grunted, rolled over and was totally happy. Not. Another. Peep. Mommy and Daddy were so. very. happy. 

Jean gave me filter numbers for last month today. We do this at the end of the month so we have an idea of how many filters are getting installed. 140 last month! That’s 1400 people, AT LEAST that now have clean water in their homes, just from last month. And, most of those filters, if not all, have gone out to communities in the Artibonite Valley, a part of Haiti that grows most of the country’s rice, but also has brown, brown, brown canal water as source water. Think mud puddle brown. That’s what they drink, bathe and cook with. The first bucket through a filter is such a noticeable improvement just in the fact that it comes out clear. People are so excited about the filters that every time our workers go do a delivery and installation run (Thursday they put 40 filters in the truck!) they come home with another 40-60 orders. It’s exciting to see that the idea is catching on and that families are making such a great choice. It makes all the frustrations and hard stuff that comes with living here totally worth it. 

Yesterday the US turned a corner into history. I know that a lot of people have a lot of issues with the Democratic position on things, which is fine. I also know the significance of the fact that the US just elected it’s first black president. I believe he is competent and we are so happy with how things turned out. Living here in Haiti we see how many Haitians look to the US and want pick up certain attitudes or ideas about things. We knew that if Obama was elected it would speak volumes to the average person here. Volumes about the fact that they really could do anything that they set their mind to. That a black person could really do this. Haiti won it’s independence hundreds of years ago, but we still see that many people don’t really understand what that means. It’s as if they want it and yet don’t understand that it is theirs, they need only truly take responsibility for things. To be actively involved in a positive way, not reacting when things don’t go the way they want them to. You may disagree with those observations, and that’s fine. 

This morning when our first workers arrived I asked them if they knew that the US election was last night and they said they did. I then told them that a black man was elected president. Their reactions said what we had assumed. Their faces lit up. Others that were just out of earshot came over to ask what I had just said. They were all very excited. Later in the work yard Chris said that’s all they were talking about. This is a BIG deal here. 
This entry was posted in this is haiti, this is life by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

3 thoughts on “So many thoughts…

  1. I am so glad to see that you finally added Olivia to the “How I got here” portion of the blog. I always notice this but then alway forget to make a comment. Hope all is well!! I love to check in all the time and see what you busy busy folks are up to!! Canada misses you guys ya know!!LoveErin aka the girl from the other side of the fence

  2. BIG SMILE BIG BIG BIG SMILE !!!!!!That is for you Leslie, for you and Chris and Liv too!!!!!And considering my jacket has three Obama buttons on it including one that reads, “Believers for Obama!” I also send a big smile for President Elect Obama. I was stunned several years ago when I realized that the Haitians that I knew in Haiti believed that all US Christians were Republicans. Nope, nope nope! I think that Jesus Christ would fit in quite nicely with us share our liberal company and too. BlessingsBarb J :)

Leave a Comment

