And that thing was THIS big…

Today Chris went to pick up Earl and Ron, our Vision Trippers. They both arrived safe and sound with all of their stuff. 

While Chris was gone I did a few things and then a local fisherman came by. He’s the same guy that we bought a lot of fish off of last year and he knows to come whenever he has good fish. Today he said he had a gwo pwason for me. The guy in the boat cringed when I asked to see it and he had to hold it up. It was a beautiful sailfish. So we went into negotiations. When all was said and done I got over 40lbs of fish for $500 Haitian ($63 US). The thing I know about sail fish is that it’s ALL meat save the head and the tail fins. So, that’s less than $2 US/lb. I left it out on the back step until Chris got home just so I could gloat about my fish buying finess. He LOVES fish and had been complaining that we didn’t have any. He was pretty excited. I don’t have any pictures, but Matt took some and I’m sure they’ll be up on his blog sometime soon. 
Last night our yard lights weren’t working and someone in the area decided to try and take advantage of it. They cut the barbed wire in the back and tried to steal the welding machine that’s on the depot roof that has been used for welding the solar array. They weren’t too smart and didn’t finish with what they were doing. They basically just cut stuff. The welder is fine and still there and the fence is already fixed. 
That’s about all there is to tell today.
This entry was posted in uncategorized by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

Leave a Comment

