People and projects

So much going on! We’ve got 7 people around here right now, plus Olivia. It’s a bit crazy, but we’re enjoying our family and Matt’s friends. 


For those of us that are doing work type things, the last few mornings have been spent getting the first of the solar panels up. It’s tedious work and a bit nerve wracking, but it’s plugging along. The weather is pretty overcast today so I think they’ll be able to get more done than planned. Usually by about 10 am it’s so hot up on the array that they can’t do any more work. I’ll be glad when it’s all done and it doesn’t use up all of Chris’ mental time. He’s been pretty stressed about it. It just feels like the project that never ends. 

Yesterday I took Abby for a walk, well, more of a squeeze really, around the new apartment. They’re making good progress with getting the jack stands and plywood up for the roof. They should be finished that today and ready to start laying rebar tomorrow. It was very cool to walk around with something covering the rooms and get an idea about how the light is in there and more of a feel for how things will be when it’s finished. We spent lot of time going over plans with Otto when he was here and via email and it’s really fun to see it become something concrete, no pun intended. I’m getting more excited about it now. Once the roof is done we just move onto finishing stuff. We’re telling ourselves that’ll take a few months because there’s a lot to do beyond stuccoing and painting. Every time I go up in the building I get a better idea of the space and can see how it’s going to be so much better for our family. 

I’m starting to get really excited for Christmas. It’s only 26 days until I see my family. I wasn’t sure how I would feel spending Christmas in Haiti because it’s totally the opposite end of the scale from what I’m used to, but I’m excited about it now. It’s going to be so good to have family around. My mom is already telling me about the treats that she’s bringing, like a small Christmas tree, and I find myself thinking about things like where we’ll put the tree, the baking I want to do, etc. I also started a new sewing project yesterday that I’m very excited about. I think I’ll take some pictures and make a bit of a tutorial because it’s something that is fun for people of any age during the Christmas season, and very versatile. It has some hand stitching on it which I don’t normally do, but find I’m enjoying. 

I want to thank everyone for their prayers for our family over the last week or so. We’ve definitely felt them. It’s been a hard week in many ways, but I marvel at how God has provided just what we needed when we needed it. 
This entry was posted in this is haiti, this is life by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

Leave a Comment

