Progressive Christmas

Well, the luggage all arrived safe and sound, just one day late. Thanks for all of your prayers for the trip that will go down in the family history book as “the year they attempted to come to Haiti for Christmas”. We did have Christmas, it was just a day or so late. And nothing like what we expected it to be. Funny how that seems to happen a lot here…

Anyway, we’re all good and unwinding and relaxing. It’s so fun to watch my family with Olivia. It was a long wait and all the frustrations and ups and downs of the last week have just escallated all of that, but now that everyone is here we all think it was worth it. It’s fun watching my parents with my kid. I think it’s giving me an idea of what they were like when we were little. It’s also nice to have them say how proud of us they are for keeping Olivia alive and breathing without much outside help. :)
We were totally blessed by all the goodies that arrived. Many people sent stuff with the family and it was humbling to know that so many people had thought about us. To all of you that are reading, THANK YOU! You make us feel so loved. 
It was so fun to watch Olivia in the midst of all the hoop-la. She’s still having fun playing with the Christmas tree and the decorations. Opening presents was fun, but for her it was more about the paper than the presents. A time or two while we were distracted she decided it was prime opportunity to try for our coffee cups. And we fought over a candy cane. Yes we did. We got them in our stockings and she got hold of one that she was not going to let go of, especially after she managed to sneak a piece. We don’t give her much sugar, so apparently it was worth the fight :) As I was wrestling her for what was left I had to stiffle laughter becuase she was so not letting that thing go!
We’re going to take the fam to the beach today and then have some friends over later. I’ve also heard rumors of spicy chicken tonight if they’re cooking it so I don’t have to make dinner. Family is so, so fun, especially when they like to spoil you ;)
I’m about to start getting some help with the post so I’m going to sign off before there’s drool all over the keyboard.
Have a great day!
~leslie
This entry was posted in this is life by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

Leave a Comment

