Home Again

We took the fam to the airport this morning, so they’re on their way home again. It was sad to say good-bye. I know it’ll probably sink in more over the next couple of days, but right now I’m so tired it’s hard for it to make an imprint.

This morning Jan Filip, our guard, woke us up by yelling, “The dog is back, the dog is back!” Jabez came home in the night and we were SO happy to see her. We talked for a long time last night, sort of grieving, and coming to terms with the fact that we might not see her again. I know many would think that rash thinking, but this is Haiti and things are different here. My dad thinks she probably got so scared that she ran and hid somewhere nearby, but didn’t come out at all yesterday, which is why we didn’t find her. But, she is home, and she is absolutely fine. Not a mark on her. We’re so grateful. We decided this morning that we’re going to look for another dog, a puppy. We had been talking about it over the last couple months because we know Jabez is getting older, but hadn’t wanted to jump into anything. We want her to have another dog around because dogs are pack animals and we think the company would be good for her. Also, she’s such a great dog that getting a puppy now would be a good idea as far as training goes – it could learn from her. So, we’ll be looking around. For anyone in Haiti, we’re looking for a Rotweiler. If you know of any good breeders in the country please let me know. We’ll be trying to track down the guy that Jabez was purchased from, but it’s good to know if there are other options. 
I feel like a couple of days has given us time to think and regroup, though it’s been exhausting emotionally. Evens, one of our employees, has gotten a good part of our wiring fixed to the point where we’re charging our batteries off the solar panels and our EDH connection is working again. Chris and Evens got some spare transformers hooked up so we can pump water off the inverter. So, we have power and we have water. Our friend that owns the house two doors down just came by and said we could borrow his generator for as long as we need it as their house doesn’t get used much. Our plan is to use that for the next couple of weeks so Chris can shop around for a new generator rather than making a rash purchase. 
Thanks to all of you who commented and for all of the prayers that have been sent up for us. Your support means so much to us and we feel it here. 
There are many more things to write about, good things. Things from the visit. I just don’t have the emotional energy to do it right now. I also have a bunch of pictures that I want to post, but will have to work on that since my computer is not here. They will come though. Right now, I’m going to go take a nap. Sleep was fitful last night. 
This entry was posted in uncategorized by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

2 thoughts on “Home Again

  1. I am so happy that Jabez is home safe and sound. Yes, she would be a great teacher to train a puppy in the ways of the mission. I am so happy for all of you! (I always go back to the earlier post before I read the most current) Of course you are emotionally exhausted, take some time to recenter. Praying for peace and stability for you all. Blessings Barb J :)

Leave a Comment

