I’m a rambling Rolling

I thought it was time I showed up on here for a quick minute. I mean, it has been over a week. I don’t really have the words to explain why, but I think I’ve been avoiding the blog. I keep thinking about it and feel like I waver between having all sorts of ideas about what to write and not having anything to say. Then, when I do feel like I’m ready to sit down and write I feel like there are too many disjointed ideas all crashing together in the same post. I respect people that can stay on topic. Really, I do. 

We’re in the middle of a class for 9 people, which is basically a full class for us. I remember back two years when classes seemed like this big, crazy thing that we did. Now they’re just routine. Routine even when I don’t have my computer, which has all of the work files on it. Routine when our printer ran out of ink halfway through copying the manuals. Routine when… In Haiti “routine” is whatever happens to go on that day I think. 
Chris got a new generator today. It wasn’t a planned trip into town. We realized at breakfast this morning that we needed more money because Friday is pay day. Chris refuses to go to the bank in St. Marc anymore, unless there is absolutely no way to avoid it. The last time he went in to take care of a money transfer he was there for 5 hours. You just think I’m exagerating, don’t you? I’m not. Today he decided it would be better for him to drive to Port au Prince to go to the bank, rather than spending another 5 hours waiting in line. Just think of that the next time you have to wait at the grocery store or Walmart. He went and bought our new generator and ordered the windows for the apartment at the same time so it was actually a productive trip.
Turns out the guys that he got the generator from also build cabinets, so next week, or something like that, we’re going to stop by and have a chat and see what they can do for us for the apartment. Chris made a joke with our board the other night that I wanted fancy pants cupboards. If any of you are reading, for the record, I was in bed and out of “what the heck are you saying to them!?!” range. Thank you all of you for thinking I deserve nice cupboards. Really, my needs are simple. I want the counters to be at normal person height, not hitting me at my pelvis. I want the doors to close properly. And, I want the shelves inside to be at reasonable heights. That’s all. Sounds simple, but the thought of hiring any joe cabinet maker was giving me feverish sweats. You have to really shop around for certain things here because a “boss” will asure you that he knows what he’s doing, then it all turns out wrong. The guys in Port actually have brochures and a website. That should be good for something. Oh, and they have a heart for missionaries and like to give them good deals :) 
Speaking of the apartment, yesterday I was sitting in class and during a moment when my mind was wandering from my translation duties I looked over and realized that Boss Simon was stuccoing the front of it. And that the front of the dorms (downstairs) had been finished. Last week. Today the whole front of the building is done and it looks so different. And it all happened without me knowing that it was happening. It made me feel giddy and out of the loop all at the same time. I still have a hard time thinking about the fact that we’re on the finishing side of things. My brain keeps running to the details, like floors and cupboards and such. Part of me feels like because we’re missionaries and we’re supposed to be all humble etc that I shouldn’t be looking forward to that kind of thing, but I am. The decisions need to be made by someone, and I’m happy to do them becuase I love this kind of thing. Mostly though, I feel like it’ll be a little something that’s “ours” in a sense. Chris and I got married after we were both working for the mission, and still live in the same house we lived in then, just with fewer people. We’ve never really had our own space with just our own personal stuff in it that we haven’t had to share openly with everyone else. I’m looking forward to having some separation there, to be able to add our own personality to things, to have just our stuff around us and not have to think that someone else might think it’s public access just because its there. We want to keep things simple for many reasons, but it’s fun for me to be able to make choices that suit us and to think about how it’s all going to come together. That, and I’ve never, ever been the very first person to live in a place. That feels cool. 
Today we got our new water system up and running. Chris bought a new tank last week, and now it and our old one are up on the roof of the new building and we have more water pressure now than we ever have without having to run the generator. It’s pretty exciting to know that I won’t have to plan the days that I wash my hair on whether the water pump is running or not. AND, the washing machine fills like it does when the pump is on. That may mean nothing to you, but to me it means that I’ll actually be able to do a load of laundry in an hour, not four. Again, not exagerating. Tomorrow the new generator will get hooked up and our power and water system will be all put back together the way it’s supposed to function. I’ve been trying to be a good sport about things and remember that we’re lucky we have water and power on our property period, and I think I’ve done a good job with rolling with the punches and not complaining etc. It’ll just be nice to have everything back to the way it’s supposed to be so we don’t have to calculate every single thing we do and can spend that brain power on other things, like running the mission. Or doing laundry. 
We get to get away next weekend and I’m already excited about it. We’re going to our favorite place in Haiti – Furcy. Mountains, cool air, quiet. Mmmm. We need to have a bit of rest as a family, away from Pierre Payen. Our friends are being very gracious and letting us use their house. It’s kind of like going to the cottage/cabin for any of you that do that. We get up there and just forget about time and totally unwind. I’m so looking forward to it. 
Well, this has been enough of a ramble so I’m going to sign off. Have a great week!
~Leslie
This entry was posted in randomness, this is haiti, this is life by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

3 thoughts on “I’m a rambling Rolling

  1. Congratulations on your new water pressure! Four hours to do a load of laundry, wow. Your cabinetry being built by people who know how to do it must be a real treat. Standard counter height is 36″ and we had ours built at 38 1/2″ total. That little bit really saves the back. You are going to love having a proper counter height. Have fun picking it all out.Can you tell us what colors the outside of the building will be? Happy dance for all the progress that has been made. Enjoy your time away.Blessings Barb J :)

  2. Leslie,Do you know Father Marc Boisvert, the founder and director of Pwoje Espwa in southern Haiti? He has some wonderful carpenters that could very easily make your cupboards. If you don’t know him and you want is e-mail, I will send it.Vicki

  3. The building is going to be off white, just like inside. Mostly to keep it cool and reflect the sun. Vicki, thanks for the suggestion but we’re going to go more local. The “south” is several hours away and with something like this we need to be able to keep an eye on it or have a professional do it just for our own sanity.

Leave a Comment

