One

Baby girl turned the big 1 on Monday. We had a few friends over for dinner and had a little celebration. My mom brought a “birthday bag” with her at Christmas. She had put a birthday table cloth, birhtday napkins, balloons, a “1′ candle and the hat in it. She felt it was important that we had the necessities to celebrate in style :) Little Miss O wasn’t really sure what was going on, but as always she seemed to enjoy being the center of attention. 

For the Fan Club, this is the hat. I was told I would recieve hate mail if I didn’t post a picture for you. (For all of you not in the loop, this is the ridiculous hat my mother bought to torture our daughter with on her birhtday)

Daddy, the birthday girl and the cupcake “cake”.

Banana icecream face.

This is what you get when you give a child who pretty much never has sweet stuff a ridiculously sweet cupcake. 
I kept thinking back to the day we brought Olivia home and how much she’s changed and grown over the year, and how much of a blessing she’s been to us. We love being her parents. I love to see how she interacts with us now compared to even a month ago. I get way more cuddles and snuggles now, she’s super chatty and is just taking in so much everyday. She’s also so incredibly curious and active. Seriously, this kid doesn’t sit still. The only time she’s not moving is when she’s sleeping. She’s a bit of an escape artist and often likes to adventure into the yard, so she keeps us hopping. I can honestly say that it’s a really fun stage to be in right now. 
This entry was posted in adoption, olivia by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

3 thoughts on “One

Leave a Comment

