La di da di da

I like days like this where it’s 8 pm and I find myself soooo looking forward to going to bed. The last few days have been busy, but fun. Like Jerry said, we went and did a delivery run today while Chris stayed home with Olivia. It was the first time I had been out on a delivery run in probably about 2 years. That sounds crazy, but the way things are set up now Chris and I are basically the facilitators and our staff go out and do the work. We find that we’re often a distraction and that people don’t respond the same way if we weren’t there. Case in point. The second filter we dropped off a woman stood on the side of the road next to the truck asking our workers why the whites weren’t giving the filters away (we run a subsidized program, which I’ve talked about before). If we hadn’t been there there would be no question that it makes sense that people pay for their filters. When we got to the biggest delivery people came and gathered. Our workers right away started telling them not to ask for anything. After that I was able to have a conversation with a few of the women. I liked being able to get out and feel a bit more connected to what we do. I have a hard time with that sometimes but I also love the way we’re set up because I know it’s more effective. I don’t need to go out just so I feel like I’m doing something. 


Olivia is walking. The difference over a period of hours is astounding. She’s gone from being timid about stepping out to motoring around and being very proud of herself. If she can get herself up her chosen method of getting around is walking. Tonight she got so excited that she took off from one end of the room towards our kitchen where Daddy and Granddad were doing dishes, lost her balance, managed to avoid the stack of pop bottle crates, but bit it into the corner of the water cooler. She had a nice little bump on her forehead for bath time. Walking wound number one. She’s so good at falling and not getting discouraged. She’s also started putting things on her head and walking around. Apparently Olivia is one freakishly observant child. I mean, it’s not like we’ve got people walking around the yard with things on their heads all day long, but she would have seen it driving through different communities. Crazy. And funny. :) I’ve found myself feeling amazed at how quickly kids can pick things up. I mean, two days ago walking was just something that she did along the furniture. Once she got it, she was all in. No halfway. 

I just realized that it was one year ago TODAY that we got the call about Olivia. She was so tiny that first day that we met her, only 5lbs 4 oz, and now she’s walking. So much has happened in the last year, so much has changed. We saw John McHoul on Monday and I *think* we’re in IBESR. That’s Haitian social services. We need to call Junior to double check, but he was moving our paperwork as much as possible to get our file in. IBESR is the first step in the official adoption process here and can take any number of months. Some people are out in 3 months, others it’s longer. Just depends on who’s looking at your dossier on any particular day. Now we get to wait it out and see how long we get to be in this. After IBESR we have a few more legal steps before everything is finished. We would love prayers that things will move at a good pace for us. We don’t want to leave until Liv’s adoption is done, so that could mean a couple years in the country without a family holiday, and anyone that’s been here knows and understands how important those breaks are for one’s sanity and health. We’re already feeling it and it’s going to take a lot to slug through until we’re done. 

I’m excited about a new project I have up my tank top. I had started a quilt top for our bed last year, but just wasn’t feeling it, and thought I didn’t have enough material to finish it. I decided that I’ll stash the parts that I have done away for a while and make a twin sized quilt out of it for Olivia when she’s old enough for a big girl bed because I will have enough for it then. I found some FABULOUS quilt squares on Ebay and Liz brought them in. Yesterday I stopped at the little fabric store in St. Marc and got the rest of the fabric for the front and the back. I’m already SO excited about it because I can already see how it’s going to come together. I’m itching to get started on it… 

Our weekend away was good. Nice and quiet. The only downside was that we all had different variations of a stomach bug. I got hit Friday morning and spent the rest of the day feeling pretty rough as we did errands, then headed up the mountain. I was better the next morning, then Olivia had her little touch of it (no barfing, thank goodness), and then Chris got it Sunday and is still feeling a little “off” as he calls it. It was so nice and cold up at Furcy. Almost too cold actually, but such a treat for us Canadian folk. I think the change of scenery was good for all of us. 

My computer is still in the shop, though it should be done this week. Hopefully. That’s why there haven’t been many pictures. Someone donated a refurbished lappy to the mission and Jerry brought it in so at least we don’t have to share computers anymore. I just don’t have any of my stuff and am crossing my fingers that the tech will be able to fix everything and keep all my stuff. 

I had more that was running through my head to write about, but it’s gone. G-O-N-E. I think that’s a good sign that it’s bedtime.

Have a stellar week.
~Leslie 
This entry was posted in uncategorized by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

One thought on “La di da di da

Leave a Comment

