Things people would NEVER say to you on the street there…

Yesterday afternoon I took Liz and Jerry down to the Pierre Payen market to walk around a bit and see what we could see. We found the most delicious bread – like a cinnamon bread, but with gingerbread instead. So. Freakin. Good. We’ve been munching on it since. I think it’s now my new favorite Haiti thing. We also got the experience the shoe being on the other foot so to speak when two boys with a cell phone camera started snapping pictures. Pretty funny so we obliged them :)

On the way home as we were walking I said hi to a few ladies sitting behind one of the food stands. I had Olivia on my back in the sling, with the sling crossing my chest. One of the ladies got my attention and told me that I needed to fix the sling because “L’ap presse sur tete ou! Ou bezwen range li. Li ka bay ou yon infeksyon nan glan yo.”
Translation???
“That’s pressing your boob. You need to fix it. It can give you an infection in the glands.”
I bet you ladies have never had a complete stranger be so concerned about your breast health. 
I did appreciate that she knew what she was talking about, but I assured her that I didn’t have milk in there to worry about. That and walking around with the sling on for one hour was hardly going to do any harm ;)
This entry was posted in uncategorized by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

One thought on “Things people would NEVER say to you on the street there…

  1. too funny! and I am glad that I can still read the untranslated version and understand it!!! I think it is cool that she would think that it would not be strange that you would be nursing her!!! I thought it was great that you were able to nurse for a while. How cool!

Leave a Comment

