So many things

I have a few minutes before friends arrive so I thought I would pop on and say Hi. There hasn’t been much time for blogging lately and to follow up on a promise to myself and my family that I wouldn’t be on my computer as much I’ve basically been doing work and emails and a bit of reading here and there, but that’s it. And it feels good. I’ve been using my “free” time (is there ever really free time?) to get on my treadmill more regularly, read some good books, do laundry, sweep my floors, keep the chaos at bay etc. The result is that I’ve been a bit happier and less attached to my electronic environment. I’m more able to see my computer as a tool, not a life line. 


So what has been happening around here?

Earlier this week I spent a couple days working on my lappy and getting things back in order. I was able to rescue some pictures from emails that my mother forwarded me, and that we hadn’t deleted off of our cameras yet. So that was good. I was able to start catching up on some work, but there is much more that will be attacked next week. 

Olivia has been a whirling dervish of activity and leaves a trail of destruction wherever she goes. Last night I found my cheese grater by the office area. I spend a good portion of each day putting things back in their rightful places. She’s figured out how to use the water cooler, but looks at it more like a drinking fountain and just walks up to it, sticks her head under it and turns it on. We’re trying to teach her that that’s not quite how it’s supposed to work. I don’t think we’re succeeding. Right now she’s in a pile of old shirts that she’s pulled out of the rag bag. She’s getting pretty good at walking and almost runs through the house at times. It’s kind of scary to see how fast she’s caught on. I was hoping we’d have a bit of an adjustment time, but apparently that would be too easy. Her first molar cut through early this week and another one is on the way which is so much fun. She also gets mad and refuses to eat if she doesn’t have a fork or spoon. Her motor skills haven’t quite caught up with her intentions, but she’s working on it and the most important thing is that she has the option. 

Thursday we went to Port for the day to do a bunch of errands. It was a good day. By “good” I mean we came home having accomplished everything we set out to do and we didn’t get annoyed at anything or anyone in the process. We got the cupboards for the apartment ordered and picked out and ordered the floor tile. We also ordered more steel to be cut and bent for molds. Did some grocery shopping and had a nice little lunch at Epi D’or, the Haitian equivalent of McDonald’s. We got home and had just enough time to unpack and change clothes before friends arrived for dinner and to spend the night. 

I managed to get a cold mid-week as well and haven’t been terribly sick, but haven’t been terribly well either. Just sort of that nagging thing that makes you tired and sniffly. Not too much fun. 

I’ve been thinking a lot about Chris’ last post too. I appreciate that he shared that part of his story with you because I think it’s challenging. We come from a culture that is so materially focused. I look at how much life has changed for me since I moved here, how much my focus has shifted. Life here is simpler. We use our time differently. We use our money differently. I grocery shop differently (as in we eat better food – less pre-packaged, less processed stuff). I look back at life in Canada and I never felt like I was really getting anywhere. It was just like a hamster wheel. I now realize that a lot of people spend so much time trying to achieve what they think is the key to life. They work and work and work for a life that they think they want or need and yet don’t get to really enjoy it. Let me just say that I firmly believe there is a difference between people that have to work and work to provide the basics for their family and people that work and work to provide what they might consider to be the basics for their family. It’s all about perspective and what’s important to you. A person can tell themselves that they have to live in a particular neighborhood, drive a particular car etc, but it’s really all perspective. 

I can also see how making the choice to follow God’s plan for my life has led to so many blessings, not just that he’s taken care of our financial needs. I was one of those people that always had debt, whether it was student loans or other, to deal with. I made poor financial choices and was always scraping by. Chris, as you’ve read, figured that out before I did, so by the time we got together, then got married he was already a firm believer in not living outside his means. In the last few years I have seen over and over how God has provided for our personal needs, and  the needs of the mission. In that though I know we have been challenged to think about how we live and what we see as necessity vs. want. I’ve come to appreciate our simpler way of living. 

It’s easy to let money be the barrier to so many things, but I’ve seen how changing that focus and looking at the smaller things makes a big difference. That said, I’m going to stop typing and go watch a movie with my family. Hope you’re having a good, restful weekend.

~Leslie
This entry was posted in uncategorized by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

One thought on “So many things

  1. awesome post! thanks for keeping us inspired to live more simply and get on the treadmill more too!! keep up the good work! oh, have you been sewing anything lately? would love to see it! hugs Amy

Leave a Comment

