The WIP

Last week Amy asked in the comments what sewing project I’ve been working on lately. Since then I’ve been deliberately taking pictures of the process so I could put them on the blog. Aren’t you proud of me? You should be even prouder that I’m actually doing it. *grin*

The current project is one MASSIVE quilt for our bed. I like to call it the “I dare you to try and tell me I’m stealing the blankets” quilt. Or the Marriage Saver. Whatever you like best. When I told Chris that I wanted to make a light quilt for our bed (light being the operative word there) his one requirement was that it was BIG. Big enough that it draped waaaayyy over the sides so neither of us had to wrestle for our fair share. Done. This thing is BIG. The sides will get trimmed a bit after it’s quilted, but you can see that it’s plenty big. 

My requirements (yes, I have more than one) were that it was simple, and that it was bright. I’ve mentioned before that I was working on a quilt top already, but that I didn’t think I had enough fabric to finish it the way I wanted to and that I lost excitement for it. I still like it and will use what I have together to make a twin sized one for Olivia when she gets a bigger bed. I just wasn’t feeling it for Chris and I. 

The fabric squares are from the Moda line NEST. Click here to see an actual photo of the fabrics in all their vibrant beauty. Mmmm. I got them on Ebay. I got two sets of 40 10×10″ squares (one square of each fabric in the line per package) and I used 36 on the front and 20 on the back. The rest were smaller prints that will get used either on the binding or for other projects. Not sure yet. 

I thought going with a simple squares with sashing pattern on the front would be simple. In theory I was right. In actual work done I was WRONG. Simply for little reasons like things not lining up or my sashing fabric mysteriously changing shape or size on me while ironing. Or that 10″ squares are just slightly bigger than 10″ which throws other things off. I have seriously ripped out almost every seam on the top of the quilt and redone it. Sometimes multiple times. I decided I wanted to do it right though and kept at it and am happy with that. I’ve been pushing myself to work more on quality and less on getting things done quickly. 

The back came to me after reading this blog for months. She’s got some fabulous ideas and stuff for people that are getting into quilting. When I got the squares I laid everything out on the floor. Top first, then bottom. After I saw what was left after deciding on the squares for the top I used the rest to do the strip and was so giddy with how it came together. I hadn’t decided what color to do with it and left that up to my instincts. I told myself to just go to the little (I mean that some people have bigger walk-in closets than this place kind of little) fabric store in St. Marc and see what grabbed me. It took all of two seconds to decide on the brown. When I got it home and laid things next to each other I was even happier with my choice. Now that it’s together I can’t wait to start quilting. I love that it’s reversible. I tend to go through phases where I change my mind or need to move things around. Just ask my husband. This way I can flip it over when I get bored of one side. The idea with the back is that when it’s on the bed face up the color blocks will sit 2/3’s of the way down the bed. I’ll be sure to take a picture when it’s done and on the bed :)
This was the beginning of the piecing process. That pile of white fabric at the bottom of the picture is all the stuff that became weird shaped or just wasn’t “right”. Doh! I had to rip the whole thing apart. Sigh. 

Quilt top done and we’re trying it on for size. :)
Top and bottom getting to know each other. They’re in love. 

The little non-helper leaving tracks so I know where to find her if she gets lost. Just in case. 

Some of you are probably wondering why I have my quilt masking taped to the floor? Well, I was basting. I learned it from the above mentioned blog and it works great. You lay your first layer (normally you would quilt the top, so you would lay your bottom first) face down to the floor, as in the nice side is kissing the laminate. Then you start in the middle of each side and tape it down, stretching it to a nice tautness (you just want to pull out the wrinkles, not pull so much that it gives your fabric a distorted shape) as you go. Work around the quilt, like a framer would attach a canvas to a frame. After you have your centers taped down, keep working each side. Tape a piece, move around to the next side, tape, move to the next side, tape… After you have your first layer down you put down the batting. No need to tape that, just make sure it’s nice and smooth. Then lay your second layer and do the same taping process. From there you can take safety pins (big ones) or long stick pins (the safety pins really are superior for this) and starting in the center pin all your layers together. Work out to your edges. When you’re done go around and remove all the tape from your layers and voila! You have a basted quilt. 

And no Barb, it’s not appliquéd. Wouldn’t that just be amazing of me? ;)
This entry was posted in crafty by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

3 thoughts on “The WIP

  1. This is an amazing quilt, I absolutely love it…especially how you have made it reversible. Definitely inspiring!I made my first quilt this past year…it was a little crib quilt for my son and I barely got through that…a full size may have to wait for a while in this household :)

  2. I LOVE this quilt! I love the colors and really, really love the line of blocks on the back that can flipped to the front. Its so lovely, all the fabric choices are awesome.

  3. What beautiful colors and great patterns you have chosen for your quilt. I love birdies and so I especially like these prints.You could be doing applique, I know you could! Think a little bunny on a bib, that can be a good place to start. An entire quilt sounds daunting. Your adventure with bias and pressing is something most every sewer has gone through. You have by now become expert at the Frog stitch. You know “rippit rippit.” Just think of it as a bias gone wrong class that you would never have wanted to take. Instead you have earned “Life skill” credit. I still struggle with bias issues. Sometime ask me about the dress that wouldn’t stop growing. Paul pulls the covers up and up to the point where he has three corners of the covers and I have one. When I get cold enough I wake up and try to rearrange the covers. Repeat this several times a night. Maybe a sleeping bag would work. Thanks for posting the pictures. You were so wise to paint the floor up there along with the inside of the roof. It looks bright and cheery now. The quilt is going to be great for these cool nights. It too looks bright and cheery! Barb J :)

Leave a Comment

