Old Website

I don’t feel much like posting today, but fortunately there is a bunch of old material I can point you towards. It’s probably enough to spend several hours reading, if you like. Back in the day, before blogs existed, Rob Haskell helped me to set up a website where I could write about what I was doing in missions. For several years, all the update letters went on to the website. If you have a lot of time on your hands, you could learn all about the details of my existence from late 2001 until 2005 or so. http://www.chrisrolling.com is the link. It hasn’t been updated in a long time now.

In other news, I signed up for facebook yesterday. I don’t know how I feel about it yet. I decided to do it as a networking thing to help us in our efforts to recruit missionaries for Clean Water for Haiti. We have some very promising cantidates at the moment, but we definitely need to keep putting the word out. Anyway, I added a bunch of pictures and friended a bunch of people. 
Bill Clinton visited Haiti a few days ago. He said, “I have followed Haiti for more than three decades. It is the first time I have ever really believed that the country has a chance to escape the bottoms of poverty and escape the heritage of oppressive governments and misgovernment and abuse of people that has held people down too long. We cannot allow the forces of nature which ravaged this country last year to derail the progress that has been made and that can be made just ahead of us.”

It sounds very optimistic, doesn’t it? I’m skeptical, and I think the cycle Bill spoke of is likely to stay with us for many years yet. Thank you for the optimism though, Mr. President. Myself, I’m dreading the day that the UN stabilization mission leaves, and I hope they stay for many years yet. Haiti is pretty good right now, but 2003,4,5 and 6 were rough.

 
This entry was posted in uncategorized by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

One thought on “Old Website

Leave a Comment

