I take no responsibility for this

Chris is always telling me that I have too many shoes. I can hear all you ladies out there giggling to your selves and all you men nodding in agreement as you think of your wives closets. What can I say? I’m female and we do like to make sure that our shoes go with everything. I mean think about it. It’s very rare than men’s shoes are sold in a rainbow of colors. Sure, they may have color on them, but they’re generally in the black, brown, gray or white range. Ladies, on the other hand… well, lets just say it’s a whole other world. And then there are the different styles. Men, it’s simple – sneakers, sandals, dress shoes, boots and you about have it covered. Women… sigh. Too many choices. Sneakers don’t go with dresses, and heels don’t work for running in. Nuf said as far as I’m concerned. 
When Olivia was much smaller people just kept giving us things for her. This kid has had more clothes than she could ever possibly wear. Amongst the goodies were shoes. Shoes of all shapes and sizes. I have made a point of making her wear all of them at least once. When she was smaller Chris would tell me it was ridiculous because she couldn’t even walk. Then she started walking. And I started to point out the fact that when we left the house at least, shoes were a must. 
Then it happened. 
Our little cyclone discovered shoes. I’m not talking about me putting them on her. I’m talking about her finding them where we had left them when we took them off. Oh, it was all innocent at first. She would just pack them around the house. But, this kid is observant. She realized that we, in fact, wore shoes when we went outside. And that I would put them on her when we left. One day she came and started pulling at my shirt while I was working at my desk. Not an abnormal thing in the least. When I looked down she had a shoe in hand and no matter what I did she wasn’t happy. I finally asked, “Do you want Mommy to put your shoe on?” and no sooner were the words out of my mouth and she was sitting down on the floor all ready for shoe application. 
Where. did. this. kid. come. from?
I should mention that when she started packing shoes around the house for fun I put all of her shoes in a basket on the floor thinking, and secretly hoping, that she would in fact learn to put them away. Does that count as aiding and abetting? For the record, my hopes have not been met.
 
The pink fluffy flowery ones are pair #2 on her personal list of favorites.
Olivia’s Ah-ha! moment – shoes are great for running in!
Olivia loves walking around the house with just one shoe on and is happy to do so for extended periods of time. But, what she loves more than having one shoe on is having TWO shoes on. Shortly after she discovered shoes she was bringing me the second shoe. We’re talking matched pairs here. Yes, she did that all on her own. Granted, sometimes she likes to mix it up a bit and wear one of each, but she always gets the right feet. I’m wondering if we have a future rocket scientist on our hands. 
And some days a girl just can’t decide. Favorite pairs #1 and #2.
And sometimes the shoe just doesn’t fit. 
In recent days the shoes have been put on earlier and earlier. Sometimes she barely hits the floor after having her first thing in the morning diaper change and the first thing she goes for is shoes. Yesterday morning Chris let me sleep in a bit and when I came downstairs she had two different shoes on over her footy jammies. I tried to get a picture but she was too fast for me.
This entry was posted in olivia, this is life by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

3 thoughts on “I take no responsibility for this

  1. So cute!!! We have a little just about 3 year old and she is all about the gum boots…lolI really like the mix and match pairs…gotta love how they always keep us guessing huh :)

  2. So that pep talk I gave her when I was there worked, huh? I like that she always gets them on the right feet, I think that’s amazing! And I don’t even want to tell you how many pairs of shoes I have, but I guarantee it’s not as bad as a girl at my work. I think she has over 100 pairs. I do know that I need to get a spinning rack that fits around 40 pairs though, which would give me an excuse to get a couple more pairs :)Liz

Leave a Comment

