Swimming

Drinking and soaking.

Kicking and splashing.

Floating.


This weekend as I watched Olivia I was taken back in time to one of the best things about childhood in the summer – the kiddie pool. I remember long afternoons with as many kids as possible crammed into the little turtle pool that we had as kids. The water would fly and we’d exhaust ourselves in the sun. This weekend my wee one discovered just how much fun that is. It was so fun to come full circle and to watch what my parents must have watched over 25 years ago – the complete joy that a child can have from something as simple as water.

This entry was posted in olivia, this is life by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

2 thoughts on “Swimming

  1. This is great! Noah is a big fan of the wading pool and is eagerly awaiting weather that’s warm enough to blow it up. I remember coveting my neighbor’s turtle pool, what with its 6″ built in slide and all.

  2. the slide! i was just telling chris the other day about the slide and how fabulous it was. and then eventually after hours and hours and hours of abuse someone would figure out how to bend down the side of the pool and start letting the water out… oh, those were the days!

Leave a Comment

