Today

Today are senate elections here in Haiti. The government issued a request that private vehicles not be on the roads today. Talking to other people in the area there is still some traffic, but it’s incredibly quiet. We don’t live that far off the national highway and normally you can hear trucks going by, but today there’s nothing. 


Last night I slept well for the first time in weeks and it felt so good. I don’t deal well without sleep. I’m an 8 hour a night girl. Lack of sleep turns me into an emotional volcano and my coping skills diminish rapidly. It felt good to wake up this morning and not feel overwhelmed with everything that had been going on in the last week. It was definitely one of those This is Haiti weeks. 

Tomorrow I’m taking our friend Al into Port with me to do one big shopping trip. We’re going to be getting all the wood and supplies he needs to build the closets, our bathroom vanity and a bookshelf thingie, as well as all the other last bits and pieces we need to finish stuff off. We have to go to Batimat to get most of it and Batimat on a good day is a nauseating experience so I keep asking Chris about all the little things that need to be finished off and if we have everything so that we can do it all in one trip rather than having to go back in a week or two. It can seriously be a two hour stop on a good day and I know Chris hates going and will avoid it at all costs. I want to get the apartment done and move in so I’m going to take one for the team and look forward to a two hour visit. Heck, if it takes any less time it’ll be a good day!
Hope you had a great weekend!
~Leslie
This entry was posted in uncategorized by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

3 thoughts on “Today

  1. Wow that’s cool- I have always wanted to live in Haiti. You guys are a beautiful family. God Bless!
    CarmellesFabulosity

  2. Have you guys heard any news about how the elections went? All of the headlines I can find here just say something like “Elections Marked by Violence” and then the story is about low voter turnout and actually has nothing to do with violence. We’d be interested to hear your thoughts.

    Peter

  3. Shopping in Haiti is an experience that has no corollary in North America. Maybe you could compose a jump rope rhyme that explains the process. Or maybe not, putting it out of ones mind is probably best.

    I hope it wasn’t too painful and you got what you needed. I have lots of extra drawer pulls, mostly in pairs. Need any?

Leave a Comment

