Why Blogging is Hard

Sometimes blogging is hard. We want to share the things that go on in our lives here in Haiti because we think it’s an opportunity to show people more of the world around them. At the same time we open ourselves up for criticism. I can’t tell you how many times I debate about writing certain things or including certain details because I worry about whether I might be attacked for how I may have responded or my personal opinion. Consider that most of the people that are reading this are people that we have never met, and probably never will. I know we choose to blog, but sometimes it’s difficult to be vulnerable in front of what could feel like a firing squad. Thankfully, for the most part we get a lot of encouragement through the blog. 


We believe this is a place to converse with people, to try to bring more understanding. What I struggle with is when people challenge what we share, but don’t have the courage to sign their name. No, initials don’t count. I think that if you struggle with what someone shares and you want to challenge their thoughts, or how they may have handled a particular situation that you should at least be willing to give us enough respect to sign your name. I know it may leave you feeling vulnerable but that’s how we feel and it’s only fair. If you don’t feel like doing that on the blog we’ve provided email addresses on the side bar where you could easily email your questions/thoughts in a more private forum. 
This entry was posted in uncategorized by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

4 thoughts on “Why Blogging is Hard

  1. Hey Chris,
    I will start off by saying that I greatly respect you and the work that you are doing in Haiti. I often agree with the attitude that you have on the work field, I hardly read of you complaining about all the little things in the culture that bug you like many do. you have been very reasonable in the way that you deal with situations and it is some thing that I value in missionaries.

    To be honest with you, I was disappointed when I read about the way you handled the incident, but I did not feel like it would have been a fair judgment on part to comment about a situation that I did not fully understand. First of all, I do not know you and I am not aware of what you go through everyday, and how you are able to keep your head up as you are trying to deal with personal and ministry issues. And also I do not know how you approach the Haitian and the subculture that you have been exposed to.

    Again, to be honest, my first reaction when I read your post was “$200! why ruining someone’s life for that?” And the first scripture that came to my mind was Mat.18 that says if your brother sins against you, go to him and try to fix the matter before you take someone else into it. But at the same time I was reminded that it is not my role to judge another brother, especially when I am not in his shoe. Since someone has brought up the issue again and you are apparently open to honesty, I will contend that I was uncomfortable with the way the situation was handled.

    Here are the things that I was uncomfortable with: First the punishment did not fit the crime. Second, The guy was not given a chance to talk personally with you and confess any regrets if he had any. Third, he owns a house in the community and has wife that he can not return to now. Fourth, this guy and his family’s reputation is ruined forever in this community. It is hard for me to see justice in that, but this is coming from my own point of view, and also from being a Haitian. Don’t misunderstand me, I am trying to make the guy the victim and you the offender, but I think the punishment overrated the crime. I know that happens all the time in Haiti, but it is an injustice every time it happens. Since we, Christian believe that truth is always objective, no matter what the culture is, we approach life differently than others.

    Now I have some questions for you. Do you believe the guy is a thief, meaning that stealing is what he does for a living, or an opportunist, meaning that he would take advantage of people he knows has money whenever he can? The reason I am asking this is because some people would steal your stuff just because in their minds you are a “rich blan”, you can replace it. Otherwise they would have not stolen from you, and they don’t have a history of stealing. I worked for a number of years at a mission and I encountered people who stole from the mission, and yet never would have stolen from anybody else. People like that only need to learn a lesson to quit, even a personal confrontation can set them straight. Some of those that I have known to be opportunistic thieves were people I sat next to in Sunday morning church service. They were brothers and sisters in Christ.

    I am not trying to guilt you, but I am just being honest about my feelings, and I hope that does not develop any tension between us.
    God bless

  2. Hi Gerson,

    Thanks for your honesty, it’s very appreciated. Because of several events tonight I don’t know that Chris will have time to respond to you.

    Just to clarify, Michel stole roughly $2000 US, not $200. That was only over the 6 week period that we can account for. We’re guessing that this was going on for quite a while and we just didn’t notice, probably several months. With the difference in dollars lost I’m sure you’ll agree that it was a fairly serious case of theft, and even in Canada or the US would result in prison time in most cases.

    As to whether he was a habitual thief, or whether it was just us, I don’t feel that it really matters. Theft is theft, no matter what your motivation for it. It shouldn’t matter whether people think we can afford the loss or not. It’s a crime and it has consequences. People in our area have very little tolerance for theft because of past incidents, which is why they thanked Chris for how he handled it.

    ~Leslie

  3. An opportunist who steals is a thief.

    To hold the victims somehow accountable for the thief’s crime against them is wrong. Very wrong.

Leave a Comment

