Mango Cobbler

Ruth asked for the recipe that I used for the mango cobbler. I found it HERE. I LOVE allrecipes.com, it’s my first go-to site when I’m looking for recipes for anything. It’s really simple.

These are the things I changed when I made it.

1. I used mangoes instead of peaches. About 3 cups of them.
2. I didn’t put sugar in the mangoes because when you get ripe mangoes in Haiti the last thing they need is more sugar. The batter is also perfectly sweet so sugar in the fruit would be overkill. 
3. I still used the cinnamon, though I didn’t measure, just shook a bunch in the fruit, stirred it around and set it aside while I made the batter.
4. Made the batter as directed. It’s really yummy.
5. The first time I made this, I did it in an 8×8 pan so I didn’t have room for 2 cups of hot water & butter. The second time I did it in a 9×13 pan, which I would definitely recommend, and I used the 2 cups of water & butter as directed. I much preferred the consistency of the first batch. It was a bit more cakey, less gooey. I would recommend the 9×13 pan with about 1 cup of water and probably 2 tbsp. of butter because that’s what gives you the gooey sauce. 
I should say that being Canadian cobbler is not a normal dessert for me, though I’m really wondering why, especially since I come from orchard country where we have amazing peaches. Having never even eaten cobbler I had nothing to compare this to, but it was dang good. So good that Chris came to me on Thursday night and said, “I know you don’t like it when I nag you about things, but we really need to use up those ripe mangoes and I really think you should make another batch of cobbler.” I think it’ll be a mango season staple from now on. 
This entry was posted in uncategorized by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

One thought on “Mango Cobbler

  1. I just picked up some mangos the other day, and I always get too many. Maybe I’ll have a project tonight and try this out!

    Liz

Leave a Comment

