Too Crazy

I have to share something that happened today.

I had popped on my computer late morning to check something on my iTunes. My mom popped on MSN but I told her I had to go treadmill while Liv slept and that we could chat later. When I was done treadmilling and showering I popped back on to see if Mom was there. 
As soon as she got on she told me that she needed to tell me about a phone call that she had gotten that morning that was really strange.
She said the person was calling because they had seen my parents phone number on their phone bill but didn’t recognize it. My mom was hesitant to give out too much info wondering if this guy was crazy. 
As they talked he told her that he had friends from Canada that were missionaries in Haiti and was wondering if there was some connection. My mom told him that her daughter and son-in-law were missionaries in Haiti with Clean Water for Haiti. Turns out he knew us. 
In fact, it turns out that Bryan was one of Chris’ best friends here in Haiti before I arrived. I had met he and his wife when I visited the summer before I moved, but by the time I arrived in October they had already moved back to the US. Bryan and Kelly have always been a huge encouragement and great friends to Chris. They went through some crazy stuff while they lived here too.
One thing that has been very hard for me through the events (that’s what I’m calling them now – “the events”) of the last few weeks is that I know how hard this has been on my parents being so far away. My mom and I have had a cry or two on the phone. Today God used a perfect stranger to tell my mom that they get it, they know what it’s like because they’ve walked in our shoes and that God looked after them just like he’s looking after us right now. 
When my mom was telling me about it I totally lost it in a blubbering so hard I couldn’t see and needing a box of kleenex sort of way. I was having such a hard time over the last few days, as I’ve shared, with seeing God in all of this. It’s been frustrating and really difficult to remember that he is in fact working through all of it. I don’t understand his reasoning for things. This morning I was emailing a friend and I felt led to share Matthew 6:24 and on with her. As I was typing it out God just reminded me that he is always taking care of us. Always. Today I realized that not only was he looking after us here, he was looking after the other worries we may have, like how our families are coping with all of this, AND taking care of them and meeting the needs that they had too. 
He’s that big and his plans reach that far. 
Bryan called us this afternoon and we laughed at the absurdity of the situation. I mean, it makes no sense on a human level that my parents phone number would show up on his bill, other than him possibly phoning them to try and get contact info for us, but he can’t even remember doing that. It’s a God thing. A big ol’ God thing. 
This entry was posted in uncategorized by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

3 thoughts on “Too Crazy

  1. Leslie,

    That’s such a cool story. What an encouragement! I think I needed the reminder too of how big God is and how much He cares about all the details of our lives.

    Thanks for sharing that.

Leave a Comment

