It’s all in what you call it.

I learned an important lesson about marriage this week. It’s all about how you say things. 

The color that the cabinets in the kitchen were going to be painted has been up in the air for a bit. I had a plan in my head, then the tiles ended up not being what we had ordered. That was one thing that made me happy about the fact that we were painting them ourselves. We were flexible. I had an idea in my head but until the cupboards went in nothing was firmed up. 
I should tell you something about myself. I like to mix paint. At least here I like to mix paint. It’s so much cheaper than making the trip up to a paint store and spending the money to have someone else do it. And, I kind of like the thrill of wondering if it’ll work. So far I haven’t had any bad experiences with this. I think God has just given me a brain that can say, “Okay, we need this much of this and that much of that to get color x,” and it usually works out pretty well. That said I do find myself holding my breath a bit as the mix is being stirred and hemmed and hawed over. Anyone else have little things like this that give them that twinge of excitement? I know I’m not alone… right?
Okay, so knowing all that about me… when Chris would ask me what color I was thinking, it had initially started out as a green. Then the floors came and I felt I needed to change that. So the conversations would go like this…
C: What color did you say you were going to paint the cabinets?
L: Um, I’m thinking an aqua sort of blue.
C: Blue! No, not blue. I thought you were thinking about green. Green is good.
L: I don’t want green anymore. It won’t work. The aqua would be nice. 
C: You always want to paint things blue. I don’t like blue. Ugh. 
L: Trust me, it’ll be nice. 
C: Why can’t you go with green?
L: I don’t want green.
C: Fine, whatever.
L: You told me I could do what I wanted in the kitchen. 
So this brings me to Tuesday. I had taped everything off last Friday so I went up and started painting. Chris came up about an hour into it with Olivia and I braced myself for his opinion, which he has no problem sharing with me. He walked in the door and said, (in a somewhat funny voice I should say) “Oh, it looks nice.”
I thought he was mocking me so my response was a, “Do you really like it?”
Looking around the room he says, “Yeah. Did you know that I’ve always wanted to paint a volkswagen this color? (Um, no. !!!!!!) I actually painted my friend Sara’s van this color because I really wanted it for myself.” 
Volkswagen Baby Blue. (And this is where my mother says to herself, “That’s so Les!” because my old office before I moved here was the same color. My bridesmaids dresses were the same color. The stairs in our house now are darker, but same idea… surprise!) So you do like blue as long as it’s the exact shade of your favorite vehicle? And you will harass me about my color choices if I don’t call it exactly the right thing. Fabulous.
So there you have it ladies. If you ever have to sell your spouse on a color choice, you just need to know what to call it. No room for Pumpkin Spice, Cerulean, or Mauve. Dewalt Drill Yellow, Makita Teal,  Mac White or Hot Rod Red are the ticket ;)
For the record Mr. Volkswagen LOVES the kitchen. Every time we go in there he tells me how nice it looks. 
This entry was posted in uncategorized by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

3 thoughts on “It’s all in what you call it.

  1. Thanks Barb :) I knew you would like it.

    Mum, they are most definitely blue. We’ve had really overcast weather for the last week and a half. The morning I took the picture it was around 7:30 am and I had to have all the lights on in there.

Leave a Comment

