Coffee Beans

On Wednesday while I was running errands in Port au Prince, Leslie was trying to get things done while Olivia ran around, getting into things. Unfortunately, she got into an open bowl that had coffee beans in it and she ate a handful of them before Leslie discovered what she was doing. Wednesday night, the baby didn’t sleep, and neither did we. Oops.

It reminded me of when I was given a package of chocolate covered coffee beans for Christmas one year and Joel’s dog found where I had hid them. It ate the entire package in one sitting and then went into turbo mode. Eventually late in the evening we went on a “walk” to try to tire out the dog. It ran up and down the trail and covered approximately 10 times the distance we did and by the time we got home it’s paws were bloody. Even then, I don’t think the dog slept afterwards. 
We made a big change this week. I made a contract with a security company to provide 24/7 armed security. They started yesterday, and they seem like great guys and the company is very serious, with 1800 security guards around Haiti. I spoke with one of them for a long time yesterday and asked him if he had ever caught any thieves. He said “Yes, three times. I cuffed them and the police came and got them.” So the guards even have experience.
The shifts change at 6pm and 6am so this morning at 5:30 I introduced the night guards to all of the employees. Then, Jean Renaud managed to surprise me. He told me that the workers had decided to do a short devotion each morning before work. Fristner is going to lead them. They would start on monday, but because we were already meeting, would I please lead them in a short prayer. For obvious reasons, I’m overjoyed. Leslie and I, and the baby, will join them each morning, as will the guards. 
I haven’t felt like blogging since the arson attack, but I’m finally starting to feel comfortable in my own home again. We still see the people responsible walking by during the day, or watching us from the yard next door. They no longer seem quite so pleased with themselves though, and I suspect it’s just a matter of time before each of them are either arrested, or leave Pierre Payen entirely. 
Dont leave coffee beans out where your kids can find them.
-Chris
This entry was posted in uncategorized by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

3 thoughts on “Coffee Beans

  1. Nice to see you back Chris. I too had a dog get into coffee beans that were left too low. Haiti coffee beans at that! She didn’t nap all day and was just running around like crazy.
    Hope things keep getting better for you guys. Sounds like some good changes are happening for you now.
    Kelly

  2. It is wonderful to hear that the workers themselves decided to have devotions. It is really great to watch the tree blossom and now the fruit coming in.

    Coffee beans, mm hmm, coffee beans covered in dark chocolate.

    Barb J :)

  3. I’m glad things are getting a bit easier..and to hear some humor in your posts again. Glad too that you two got to have a date night.

Leave a Comment

