Date night

We have some fabulous friends here. Fabulous friends that mentioned a couple months ago after looking after Olivia for a night while we were sick that they would love to do that for us more often if we wanted. Um, yes, we wanted. 

We made plans to have a standing “date night” once a month. Now, the last Friday of every month Olivia gets to go have a sleep over with Bobi and Elsie up at Canaan and we get a child free night/following day to enjoy. It works out so nicely because Olivia LOVES Bobi and Elsie, and she LOVES going up to Canaan to hang out with the other kids and has all sorts of fun while she’s there. 
Yesterday evening we dropped Liv off and decided to stop at Club Indigo on our way home for a drink. We sat on the beach and talked like adults. So nice. On the way out we bumped into our friend Karen who we hadn’t seen in ages so we went and bought her a drink and had a good visit. We headed home after that and I finished throwing together a pizza that ended up being the best pizza I’ve cooked since moving to Haiti, and probably the best pizza either of us has eaten in a long time. And, that’s saying a lot because we’re both picky about pizza. We both worked at pizza places in high school and have very differing opinions on what makes a good pizza. Last night we were both delighted with the outcome. It was so fun to eat later and to do it in front of the tv while we watched a show. So like North America. Mmmm. 
A nice leisurely evening, visiting with friends in a nice atmosphere, good food, no schedule… what more could we ask for? It was fun and a much needed night off. The date night we had last month was two days after the van fire and the threat notes. We weren’t exactly relaxed so this was fun. 
We didn’t pick Liv up until around 3 pm today so we had all day to do whatever. I ended up moving a bunch of stuff into the apartment. By the end of next week we’ll be in! So exciting. I’m glad I had the time to move stuff in on my own. I’m not used to having specific places to put things where I can organize them and I needed the time to think it through without having to direct people with where to put things. The plan is to keep moving the smaller stuff over as we can, and then move the bigger stuff over mid-week. I can honestly say that I’m pretty much done with painting and washing paint off of the floors. 
Hope you’re having a great weekend.
~Leslie
This entry was posted in uncategorized by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

Leave a Comment

