A question for Food Week

“Who cooks in your household?”

It’s me, Leslie. Most of the time. Occasionally Chris will whip up his specialty – grilled cheese and tomato soup. For my birthday he made me curry chicken with apples and raisins which was a treat and really yummy. He also got really excited about finding Shake and Bake once and made chicken. Aside from those things though, I cook 98% of the time. Maybe even 99%.
I like to cook. I like to try new things. I think my cooking has gotten better since I moved here because I’ve had to be more creative with not always having stuff available. That said, I do get tired of it after a while, especially if we’ve had a big run of visitors because I tend to be cooking a lot. I have gotten better at choosing things for the menu that are less labor intensive, but that’s taken some work. 
When we first got married I was amazed at how much Chris ate. See, until I started cooking I thought he was a freak of nature that could get by on 1/2 cup of rice and some stewed chicken. Turns out that eating rice every single day for 3+ years had turned him off the stuff. My husband really likes my cooking most days which is great, except that when I mention going out to eat occasionally he wonders why I would want to do that because my food is so much better than whatever we can get at the local restaurants. Many people have told me the easy solution for that is to cook less tasty food ;)
This entry was posted in food by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

Leave a Comment

