Food Week Part 1

Welcome to Food Week With the Rollings! I hope you have fun getting to know our family a bit better.


Now, jumping right in… When I was a kid my Granny and Granddad Lockhart had a cabin on the Shuswap Lake. For those of you non-Canadians, or non-BCers, the Shuswap is a huge lake, one of the most well used in the province. Lots of houseboats etc. My grandparents would open the cabin up usually late April or early May, and by May long weekend we were making our first trek of the season. We were lucky in that we only lived 45 minutes away. Every summer Granny and Granddad would take my brother and I up there for at least a week without our parents. Most of the time other cousins made the trip and we spent a week together, one of the only times we might see each other throughout the year, swimming, swimming, and swimming again. I have so many great memories of those summers. There was just so much to do. We would play hard all day long and sleep hard from exhaustion. Various family members would come and go as they had vacation days. It was just such a great way to pass the summers.

When it came time to feed us breakfast Granny would stick with what had worked on her brood of six – PANCAKES! This is still the recipe she uses, it’s the recipe my mom uses, and I’m pretty sure Gran got it from my Great Granny Lockhart. When Granny was feeding a crowd she would spend at least an hour at the stove because we just wouldn’t stop eating these things. I think it was partly the pancakes and partly the homemade strawberry jam that went on them :) When we have visitors in these are always on my meal plan at least one morning because they’re cheap and easy to make. We usually have pancakes one morning a week as a family too. 

GRANNY LOCKHART’S PANCAKES
Will easily feed 4-5 people. I usually make a half batch if it’s just us 3. Olivia has been known to eat two of these on her own. 

2c. milk
2 eggs
1/3 c. vegetable oil

2 c. flour
3 tbsp. sugar
1 tsp. salt
5 tsp. baking powder

1. Whisk milk, eggs and oil together well. Add dry ingredients and whisk well. You want a nice smooth batter. 

2. Heat a griddle or frying pan on medium heat. You want to make sure the griddle is hot before you start cooking. If using a griddle with no non-stick coating you may want to rub a little shortening on it. After the first few pancakes have been cooked you shouldn’t need to worry about sticking. In my family we call this “seasoning the pan”. 

3. Pour batter on pan and cook until the edges start to bubble and the bubbles leave little holes when they pop. Flip and cook for another few minutes. Pancakes should be a nice golden brown like you get in the restaurant. If they aren’t (usually the first ones) your pan isn’t hot enough yet.

4. Cook pancakes until everyone is rolling on the floor from their gluttony. 

**If you’re cooking for a crowd, try mixing the batter up the night before and keeping it in the fridge. The next morning it’s one less thing to do that requires good thought process. You just need to put on the coffee and turn on the griddle and voila – breakfast for an army!
This entry was posted in food by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

2 thoughts on “Food Week Part 1

  1. I can vouch for the quality of these pancakes!

    I cook a similar recipe for Noah most weekends, but with a few differences.
    1) I use half white flour and half whole wheat.
    2) I use 1 tsp less baking powder and
    3) I think there is a little less oil and I usually split it half and half with butter.

  2. I've substituted whole wheat in these as well, and sometimes put yogurt in them. They are versatile that way, but I think a lot of pancake recipes are just because they're so basic.

Leave a Comment

