Food Week Part 4

Today’s contribution to food week has to be one of the simplest things ever to make. Last year when we fell in love with avocados we would usually slice them up and tuck them in tortillas. Chris asked if I could make guacamole one day and after some trial and error I came up with this recipe. Just last week I made some when our friend Bobi was over for dinner and I think we probably would have been happy to eat just that with chips. We seriously gobble this stuff up.

I should mention that this is one of those recipes that I find myself dashing and shaking with, and never actually get out a measuring spoon. It’s all about what you like so the quantities are approximate and you can adjust them to your taste. 
Also, as a disclaimer, I’ve never been to Mexico or anywhere south of the US border and have never tasted authentic guacamole, just the North American knock-offs and who knows how accurate those are. This is just what we like and if it’s in no way similar to authentic guac please don’t hold it against me or send hate mail. I don’t like hate mail. 
LESLIE’S GUACAMOLE

2-3 LARGE, or 5-6 small ripe* avocados
1/2-3/4 tsp. chili powder
3 cloves of garlic, crushed
1/2 tsp. salt
2 drops of hot sauce
*You want your avocados to push in when you press your thumb against them so they’re easy to mash.
1. Mash your avocados in a bowl. I usually just use a fork. If they aren’t mashing really well you can put them in a blender, but that’s probably a sign that they aren’t super ripe, and super ripe avocados make the yummiest guacamole. Mash them up good. It’s okay to leave some chunks though.
2. Add in the rest of your ingredients. I would start with the recommended and then add more as needed to reach your preferred taste. 
3. Eat it!
This entry was posted in uncategorized by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

2 thoughts on “Food Week Part 4

  1. mm, haiti avacados are the best! when we make guacamole here in ab, we use lime juice, salt,olives chopped white onion,tomatos and cilantro..can you get cilantro in Haiti??

    next time I make it i'm going to try the chili powder..sounds yum!!

  2. Hi Leslie,
    All these things look so good that I want to try them all. I think even my kids might like some of them. I can't wait to try them. Thanks for sharing.
    Kelly

Leave a Comment

