Food Week Part 7

What would Food Week be without dessert? To wrap things up I want to share with you a simple recipe that has been handed down in our family. I have no idea where it came from originally so I can only credit it to my Granny Lockhart. Gran, if you’re reading this and you remember where it came from let me know and I’ll post the info.

When we were first married I wanted to make this but had to email Mom for the recipe. When she did up my cook book it was one that she made sure to include. I remember Mom making this many times as we were growing up, often on Sunday dinner nights when she would make a roast beef and all the trimmings. It’s simple and tasty ;)
HASTY TASTY PUDDING
makes one good sized caserole dish

1/3 c. brown sugar
1 c. flour
2 tsp. baking powder
pinch of salt
1 c. raisins
3/4 c. milk
2 1/2 c. hot water
1 c. brown sugar
1 tbsp. butter
1/4 c. cinnamon
1. Heat oven to 350F.
2. Mix brown sugar, flour, baking powder and salt together. Add in raisins and stir dry ingredients to coat raisins. Add milk and mix to make a batter. Pour into a deep buttered casserole dish.
3. Boil your water. In a small bowl combine hot water, brown sugar, butter and cinnamon. Stir until sugar is dissolved and butter is melted. Pour over batter in casserole.
4. Bake for 25 minutes. The batter will bake into a cake like pudding and rise to the top, and the sauce will thicken underneath it. Let it rest a bit before serving. Spoon the pudding into bowls and pour sauce over top. Enjoy!
This entry was posted in food by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

One thought on “Food Week Part 7

Leave a Comment

