Steak au Poive

**Late edit: The photos are in, finally, and I fixed the link. Sorry about that!
I like that blogging can connect you with other people. I’ve been reading the Johnson-McCormick family blog for about a year or so now and like it because I can connect to them in some good ways. They chose to start their family through adoption, like we did. They adopted from Haiti, as we are. And, they just expanded their family last year through birth, like we would like to sometime in the future. I know that food helps connect people and during Food Week our families did just that.
During Food Week Heather asked if we would be interested in doing dinner “together”. The idea was that we would each make the same thing and then do a simultaneous blog post about dinner. On the menu was Steak au Poive with Pommes Frites.

I started with cutting up the potatoes and soaked them in salt water while I got the other stuff organized. I did the first fry, as per Heather’s recommendation in the comments during Food Week, and then set the fries aside while I got the meat and sauce done up. When the meat and sauce was cooked I just turned off the burner and let it sit on the stove to stay warm while I did the second fry on the pommes frites. They went on the table hot and crispy. I think the whole process took just under and hour, and I wasn’t moving fast.
Frying the frites.
Steaking the steak ;)
Dinner before (sorry, no candles on this end of things)
And dinner after! No complaints from our little family. You can see even Olivia’s bowl is cleaned right up:o)
And this was Olivia’s contribution to dinner time prep. She loves wearing my shoes.
I should mention that I’ve ben working at cutting out a bunch of starch and unnecessary carbs (my weakness) for the last couple of weeks and it’s been good for me, but because I very rarely make the fries with the steak (usually it’s a baked potato these days) I had to indulge just a bit. And, as my husband said, “I can see why, these fries are ridiculously good!”. It’s true, they were. So. Very. Good. Olivia gobbled them up and had seconds. This is still one of our family’s favorite meals. I have to stop myself from licking the steak pan when we’re done.
I’m eager to see how the J-M clans dinner turned out… :)
**Another late edit: I just read their post. How fun! I love that they LOVE to make simple things, like a meal, so special for their family. And, we too are excited about the day when we might be able to have them over for dinner “for real”.
This entry was posted in food by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

5 thoughts on “Steak au Poive

  1. I clicked on the link to the Johnson-McCormick family blog but the link is non-functioning. Can you fix it so we can all read what she wrote too?
    Hugs to all,
    Gramma Rolling

  2. Mmmmmm yum. HBJ's and your pics look so good I have no excuses, so this Saturday night…
    I do have a question. Can the cream/mushroom powder/flour be substituted with cream of mushroom soup or no? If not, no pwoblem.
    I think a Haitian cookbook (completely downloadable for a fee) is in order. I think you are very clever and handy; you could make cute cookbook covers from fabric scraps. Sell them directly, like the little handbags. C'mon, I'm already excited about the possibilities.

  3. Candis, that's fun! I hope you have a great time on Saturday.

    Believe it or not, I have considered putting together a cookbook. I've had a lot of visitors tell me I should. It's one of those things floating in the back of my head, though I haven't ever thought about the fabric covers :o) Nice!

  4. Ha! I realized as I hit publish that I totally forgot to answer your question about the soup. Sigh.

    I honestly can't tell you if it would work out well or not as I've never actually done it. Like I said, the mushroom powder is not necessary, just something I throw in there. Most of the times that I've had this I would guess that no one thought to put it in but me. I generally use cornstarch instead of flour, but that's a preference if I have the starch. I think you should try it as per the recipe once, then try it with the soup and see what you think. I would be curious.

    Happy cooking!

Leave a Comment

