Girls Going Solo

So Daddy flew the coop on Tuesday and has left us ladies up to our own devices for 10 days. I do have to say that I was wondering how we were going to do. I love that Chris is home throughout the day and that we can trade off when one of us is feeling the crunch of either work or parenting. He is the more patient one of the two of us and several times a day I find myself saying, “Okay, it’s your turn!”

This has been the first time that Olivia and I have been completely on our own since we brought her home. I mean, with the exception of him being gone for the day to Port or something like that. I do think that knowing he’s there can make me a bit lazy in the sense that I know I don’t have to put as much effort in if I know he’s there to back me up. We’ve been doing great on our own and I’ve been surprised at how much more patient I’ve been able to be. Seriously surprised. I mean, lets face it, I know who I am and I know all that ugly stuff in myself and was wondering how much of it would be rearing it’s ugly head this week. I think God is giving me an extra measure of grace and patience with Liv and we’ve been having a good time together because of it. I’ve been able to respond to her calmly and patiently when she’s needing some “guiding” and we’ve fallen into a nice little rhythm with each other. I think the solid time together has been good for us actually.
I went to Port on Wednesday to pick up our friend Barb who was returning after a two month vacation. She’s been staying at the mission for the last few nights while she gets her place cleaned up and habitable. The company has been nice. Bobi also came over last night for a sleep over. I made pizza for dinner and us three ladies have enjoyed some good ol’ girl time. Bobi and I stayed up watching Mama Mia. We had a nice slow morning with banana pancakes and coffee and more girl talk. I find women deal with Haiti in a very different way than men do, and we really do need to hash through things together, just like we do back in North America. Those woman to woman relationships are so important.
We have no plans for the rest of the weekend, except to just relax. I like that.
Chris is having a good break so far. He said it took him a couple days to unwind but once he got to that point the relaxing has come and he’s enjoying not having responsibilities right now. He’s getting a chance to visit friends and family and do some camping with his best friend. We miss him, but I’m glad he has this time away. He really needed it.
Last Sunday I was finally able to plant our roof garden and I just went up to do a little inspection and my lettuce is already coming up! 7 days people! Actually less than that because I imagine that it poked through yesterday or the day before, but because we had rain I hadn’t gone up to water. I *think* some of my tomatoes are poking through but I’m not sure. I’ll have to wait a few days and check again. I also planted my herbs down on the deck and I think my basil is starting to come up. It’s so fun to see things growing! And, it’s amazing how fast stuff will germinate and pop up. I have these visions of eating salad freshly picked from our roof an hour before dinner. Mmmm.
This is totally random too, but I’ve learned a very valuable lesson in the last week. It’s about shoes. When we were getting our container stuff all set for shipping I decided that with my back problems, and as a result, my foot problems, that maybe it was time to give up the $2.50 Old Navy flip flops for something a little more substantial. Chris is a big fan of Birks, but I had never actually owned a pair of the real deal, only the cheap knock offs. And, those cheap knock offs have never felt good. I would end up with sore feet, and so I was kind of turned off of them. Well, I decided to bite the bullet and try a pair out. I went on Ebay and found a brand new pair for about $40 and had them sent with our container stuff. I also got a pair of Teva flip flops. It seemed crazy to me to pay $15 for flip flops. I told myself that investing in better shoes was so worth it and that I wouldn’t be buying any more cheap flip flops, just because they were cheap. I’ve slowly given away my collection of “cheapies” to our workers because they like to wear them in the work yard where their feet are getting wet all day long. I finally got my new Birks and Teva’s and, let me tell you, I totally get it now. I haven’t had any of the pain from the real Birks that I’d had with the cheap knock offs in the past. And the Teva’s are so squishy that I’m wondering why I waited this long to get a good pair of flip flops. I knew that getting rid of them completely was the only way I wouldn’t wear them. I’ve never had a problem buying good sneakers because I always told myself that my feet needed the support when I was doing something physical. Same thing with hikers or even sport sandals. Crazy that I wouldn’t connect it for the actual shoes that I wear way more than all the others combined! I am a convert and won’t waste the money on cheap shoes any more. It’s nice to have shoes that feel good and that give me and my sad arches the support they need. My feet haven’t been hurting and neither has my back, which tells me something. I’ve realized it’s worth it to invest in a good pair of shoes rather than spending money on a bunch of bad ones. And, if you shop around online on sites like Ebay, you can often get quality shoes for a major fraction of the price.
Okay, time for a Saturday afternoon nap. Have a great weekend!
~leslie
This entry was posted in uncategorized by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

3 thoughts on “Girls Going Solo

  1. A couple of summers ago I decided the same thing with flip flops. If I live in them, maybe I should try a good pair. I went with NAOT and I will never look back. They are so comfy.

  2. Birks have always been good to me, but this past winter (Southern California winter, that is) I broke down and bought a pair of Eccos. OMG!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! They are the best–even better than BIrks because they have Velcro straps, so you can hike in them.

  3. Teva sandals with the adjustable strap across the front and again at the ankle are amazing. I have two pair that have a hiking style of sole and they walk quite well on rocky uneven ground. The footbed is so wonderfully supportive that my feet never seem to get tired when I am wearing them.

    I am glad you discovered the joy of good supportive shoes.

    I think I wore just about anything that would fit in my twenties but eventually my feet started yelling at me to pay more attention to them.

Leave a Comment

