Linking Up And Commenting

I want to encourage you to go read Tara’s post (just click on the link) that she put up on their blog. It’s really well written and says a lot about the things that missionaries in places like Haiti encounter with hosting guests. I know that Chris and I have felt the same way many times and it can be so hard to effectively communicate with visitors about why we feel the way we do. Often those things are wrapped up in years of experiences, some of them very painful. I think it’s good for people read things like this so they have some insight into the other side.

Onto other things…
I sometimes wonder why we don’t get that many comments on the blog, but then recently realized that in the whole time that I’ve been blogging not once have I ever put up a post about how that works! Silly, silly me. I know there are many of you out there that are regulars in the blog world, but I also know that there are many reading this that aren’t.
We love to have your comments because it helps us feel a bit more connected to you. If you want to say hi or let us know what you think about something just do the following:
1. At the bottom of every post by the post time there’s a “Comment” link in another color. Just click on that and it will take you to the comment page.
2. On the comment page you just have to click in the big box and start typing.
3. When you’re done typing your comment scroll down and select how you want to leave it. If you have a Google account or write a blog you’ll know about those options. If you don’t you can just click on “Anonymous” and leave your name in the body of the comment so we know who sent it.
4. Click on “Publish” and you’re done!
This entry was posted in uncategorized by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

7 thoughts on “Linking Up And Commenting

  1. Hey just want to let you know I do read your blog, and throughly enjoy it. Loved the series you did on cooking. I found your blog via the Livesay blog. Found their article about hosting groups interesting and thought provoking. Hoping one day to visit Haiti, and hope that I can be a encouraging visitor. I spent some time in another Carribean country last year, on a work project. It gave me a very, very small glimpse into cultural differences and all the other things that must be adjusted too, in life outside the US and Canada. I am sure that what you all deal with is about 100x's worse than anything I struggled to cope with. Keep encouraged…you are doing a great work!

    Jennifer
    Zanesville, OH

  2. I got the chance to go to Haiti a few years ago and It was a life changing experience. Thank you for serving there.

  3. I am an addict to your blog. True confession. I love your insight and depth of sharing. I have learned so much and applaud your victories and weep with your hardships.
    Will always want a chance to babysit Olivia and give you both a time off.
    Hope to see you in October and get some great coffee again.
    Lori

  4. Hi – reading the blog … daily. Love you guys and are praying for you. And if I ever come visit, I promise to be understanding and not rude and take all your feelings into consideration. :) Seriously, I loved Tara's post and is good stuff to remember when visiting people anywhere doing the hard work. :)

  5. Hey Leslie! I often want to comment, but rarely do. Your post almost felt like a cry out for one, so here it is, after long last! I check your blog often, and love reading about your life in Haiti. It gives me a little glimpse into how different my life would be if things had not gone the way they did last year. I must admit that your Olivia posts interest me the most. It's fun to hear how she's developing and growing into a little lady. Can't wait for Angeline and Liv to have a reunion one day! And the two of us as well! Luv, Cara

  6. Oh, I comment from time to time, but I am a regular reader. I read the posting from Tara about visiting teams, and I left a comment there for both of you–heheheh.
    Running my home for my FAMILY takes everything I've got. It just kills me to host overnight guests–too demanding in little ways that drain the life out of 'ya. People need to be sensitive to that. If they want to see Haiti, rent a video or charter a tour. If they want to help the Mission, send money. That's my two cents.

  7. I thought someone should comment on your post about commenting. Thanks for all of the time you take to share your lives with us. =)

    -S

Leave a Comment

