Nice!

If I was American from a state that said things like this I would so be saying, “Awww, Y’all! Isn’t that weird that that’s what popped into my head after seeing how many of you said a big old Hi yesterday.

I reread the post and realized it did sound a bit like a desperate plea for comments which is kind of funny because that’s not what was in my head at all! Chris and I had often talked about how comments seem to flow into the blog and how posts that we think would get more response just because of the topic don’t and others totally surprise us. I also know that people like MY PARENTS (yes, I’m talking to you through the internet) have never left a comment. These are also the people that had my brother and I start the DVD player for them for the first two years they owned it though, until I handed down some tough love and told them to figure it out. Yes, harsh. Anyway, I know there are a lot of people reading that have probably never commented on any blog simply because they don’t know how and I hadn’t shared instructions on here.
It was fun to hear from all of you! Kind of like getting mail :)
Okay, I’m off to Canaan today for Medika Manba and I’m looking forward to it. It’s also VERY overcast today and we got to watch lightning from bed this morning which is very strange for Haiti, but we’ll take the cooler weather. Yesterday we were without power all day because our underground lines that run from the depot (shed) with our batteries and power had a short in it and they just now found out where. I’m happy that they didn’t have to keep digging the trench up all the way and found it close to the building. We did run wires above ground as a temporary solution yesterday and it was warm so I was thankful that we had fans last night.
This entry was posted in uncategorized by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

3 thoughts on “Nice!

  1. Just want to say how much we enjoy reading "Real Life in Haiti", your honesty and forthrightness about your daily struggles and triumphs! It gives a glimpse into the hardships one must experience day to day. Our first visit was certainly a life changing expeience…we fell in love with the people and the country.
    And we so love hearing about our darling granddaughter's escapades, she truly is a blessing to you as you are to her! Keep up the good work both at the mission and raising little Miss "O"! Lots of love and prayers from your now "not so technically challenged" parents, Nanna & Pappa Lockhart

  2. I guess I don't need to tell you that I check your blog daily, sometimes 3 or 4 times a day, as our way of feeling in closer touch with you both and of course in hopes of seeing more photos of our precious granddaughter. Your thought-provoking postings and your insightfulness are a pleasure to read and keep us grounded. There's nothing like a dose of Haitian life to give us perspective on our "problems" here.

    Yesterday I spent some time reading the Craigs' blog and again was very impressed with the glimpse into their thinking and feelings about their call to Haiti and CWH. Will you be posting a permanent link to their blog soon?

    Regarding visitor behavior, it's nice to be reminded again of how our comments and attitudes can offend. Even after 4 trips there, I still have to work hard on suppressing my North American attitudes and my inappropriate "helpful suggestions" in order to respect the Haitian culture and the way you've had to adapt to it in your daily lives. I don't mind being reminded at all — in fact, on our next visit feel free to correct me if I step on anyone's toes.

    Lovingly and with great admiration for all you both do,
    Gramma Rolling

  3. They have come out of the woodwork! Finally, the parents are commenting. That's so technologically advanced of you! Thanks, it makes me feel all mushy inside.

    And Mum R, I know the blog is like crack for you. I love that it's like crack for you ;)

Leave a Comment

