Turkey and stuffing

It’s 12:20 am and I just looked at the thermometer that sits above my desk and it’s about 83 degrees with 81% humidity. Chris and I are lucky because the mission property is well shaded, but that’s still really hot. During the day it’s obviously much warmer. Haiti is kind of mind numbing right now. Hot and not much rain in our area.

Things have been nutty, as usual. Just busyness really. And it won’t be slowing down any time soon. Chris and I were away last weekend to visit some friends in Leogane, which was a nice getaway for us. We came home with a nice load of black dirt, which Chris and a couple of the guys hauled up on the roof (bless their hearts) so Chris and I could pot up random things. I got right to work and transplanted a bunch of the tomato seedlings that our friends had sent me home with and they are doing wonderfully, which makes me really happy. More lettuce has been planted and more seeds have gone in pots too. Things that were in pots have started making their way down into the yard and they’re all doing well and growing, so I guess we’re on the right track.
Daisy is growing like a weed. A weed that likes to eat ankles and my skirts. That one is all puppy. Jabez is like a whole different dog now. Her old ladyness seems to have disappeared and been replaced by new youthful vigor. I mean, we’re talking leaping and jumping here people.
On Thursday the Rolling kitchen was turned into a bakery. I “whipped up” 4 pumpkin pies, one chocolate cake and 2 loaves of banana bread. 3 of the 4 pies were for a big Canadian Thanksgiving potluck that was hosted by friends yesterday. There were about 35 of us there I think. We got to meet Kim, a blog stalker who just moved to Haiti. Hi Kim!! Chris insisted that he needed a pie at home too, so he got his very own to enjoy Thursday afternoon and onward. The cake was to celebrate my friend Elsies belated birthday, which I was supposed to go to Friday afternoon/evening, but Thursday night I ended up with some weird flu that’s going around that left me just feeling achy all over and a bit feverish. That’s it, nothing else. That passed yesterday morning, thankfully. No way did I want to miss the turkey fest.
On Monday and Tuesday we have a visiting group coming to bless our workers and their families with a free dental and health clinic. Pray for Lori and Anne, they’re going to be busy ladies. The plan is that they’ll see about 30 patients each on each day! On Monday we’ll be ending the day with another turkey dinner, just because Canadian Thanksgiving should be enjoyed to the fullest.
I’m really excited for Tuesday. Tuesday is the day that Carmen arrives. Carmen is one of my best friends from college. She was in our wedding, and I haven’t been able to see her since. Something about me living in the third world and all… Carmen is the type of friend that I can go without seeing or talking to for months, and when we do, it’s just like we picked up where we left off. Carmen is the type of friend that decides to come two weeks before your wedding and then stays up until 2 am every night doing wedding stuff so you can get your sleep. Not because you ask her to but because she says, “You go sleep, I can do this.” And she does. Carmen is the type of friend that says, I want to come see what you’re doing, what you’re living in, to see you as a mom and a wife, and then goes and books a ticket to be here for not one, but two whole weeks because that’s how much time you will need to really catch up and enjoy each other. And, wow, am I ever looking forward to having her here. Carmen is actually the first friend of mine that will be able to make a visit since I moved here and I’m so excited. Part of it is that I never see her when we do go home because she lives in New York state and we never go to New York when we go home. The other thing is that when we do go home, the time spent with friends always feels like a nano second here, and a nano second there. So many people that I love really haven’t got to spend any time with Chris and I as a couple since we’ve gotten married, and because we can’t travel with Liv yet, no one has spent any time with us as a family. Carmen will be the first and that makes me oh so happy. I know the blogging has been sparse lately, but I wouldn’t expect it to get much better for the next two weeks. Just a heads up.
Okay, I really need to go take a cool shower and try to get some sleep. We have a missionary meeting at our house later today and I prefer to be awake for those, or at least as much as one can be in the heat.
Happy Thanksgiving to all you Canucks and to the rest of you, well, Happy Weekend!
This entry was posted in uncategorized by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

3 thoughts on “Turkey and stuffing

  1. Leslie,
    I was enjoying the heat coming from the computer from you…
    We here in MN. have recieved our first snow and they say 4-6"coming tonight. (this is in the twin cities) Tara and Troy and their tribe got back to the warmth just in time….
    Your rooftop garden sounds wonderful .
    Have fun with your friends visit!
    God Bless,
    Rose Anne

  2. I"m sooo glad that Carmen is coming for a long visit. You described "best friends" perfectly. What a blessing her visit will be to both of you!

    Your Thanksgiving dinner sounded yummy — our thoughts are with you today as you celebrate again. That's what's nice about Canadian Thanksgiving — it's not just one day, you can celebrate all weekend if you want!

    Glad to hear that Jabez has become revitalized! Is she teaching Daisy how to herd rocks yet?
    Love, Gramma Rolling

  3. I love friends like that. I have one too, Stacey, and I love that no matter the time, you can always pick right back up where you left off. So awesome that she gets to come stay with you too for two weeks!
    Texas has had rain for about two weeks now; I would send you some if I could – we haven't seen the sun even & I'm starting to wonder what it looks like…..

    Megan Zaccarello

Leave a Comment

